•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best ways to approach the steep learning curve...?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Naptown Larry

Naptown Larry

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 October 2021 - 10:36 AM

I'm finding that trying to come up to speed on mount manipulation, polar alignment, plate solving, imaging, dithering, and post processing software all at once is a pretty daunting task.

Do any of you more experienced astrophotographers have any suggestions on how to eat the elephant one bite at a time?

Edited by Naptown Larry, 23 October 2021 - 10:46 AM.

#2 FloidPienk

FloidPienk

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Hoegaarden (Belgium) and Thoiry (Ain, France)

Posted 23 October 2021 - 11:01 AM

I'm not experienced at all compared to the real guys, but already somewhere a bit higher on that indeed very steep learning curve. 

I tried to work step by step. First step in fact was to choose what softwares to use, and somehow I felt on Nina and PHD2 on my windows laptop. I tried ASIAIR and Astroberry, but just could not cope with all the problems. Partly also due to my wish to use my nikon Z7.
With Nina, and a ZWO camera all started to fall in order. And when I discovered that my CEM70 mount actually has a very find polar camera, I am up and running for the moment. 

Well, in fact, for the moment I am trying to find the most optimal backfocus distance. Seems not te be the official 55mm but a bit more. After that, next step. 

• Naptown Larry likes this

#3 Ken Sturrock

Ken Sturrock

Cardinal Ximenez

• Administrators
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 23 October 2021 - 11:04 AM

My only suggestion on this, which is deeply unpopular, is to focus on one task per session and resist the urge to take images for a project.