•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Questions about optical physics of mirror and eyepiece

Optics Reflector Eyepieces Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 tarvio

tarvio

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 October 2021 - 09:17 PM

Hi. I'm hoping to confirm some assumptions I've made about the physics of reflectors and eyepieces. I'm not a complete beginner but will be buying my first decent telescope, and I'm comparing bigger, faster scopes with smaller, slower ones. 

Can anyone help me determine whether the following assumptions are accurate?

A reflector observes a fixed field of view in its parabolic main mirror and throws that entire portion of sky onto its secondary mirror, which reflects the image into an eyepiece. For any given aperture, a mirror's FOV is determined by its focal length. A slower telescope (flatter mirror, higher f-ratio) concentrates more resolving power into a narrower FOV than a faster telescope (more concave mirror, lower f-ratio). So a telescope's f-ratio defines its maximum or "natural" FOV.

It would be convenient if parabolic mirrors were flexible, and we could adjust their focal length to apply the entire power of the mirror to different fields of view/magnifications. Sadly, this engineering marvel doesn't exist, so magnification is instead achieved by cropping into the full image observed by the mirror and magnifying the result with an eyepiece lens. A higher powered eyepiece means a more aggressive crop of the natural FOV of the mirror. (The eyepiece has its own FOV too, but my understanding is that this describes the size of its image in relation to the eye, not the FOV in terms of degrees of sky.)