•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astrophotography with 600mm lens

Equipment Astrophotography Beginner DSLR Mount Polar Alignment Tripod
  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 jmurra31

jmurra31

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 October 2021 - 05:45 AM

Hi, complete novice here, my interest is primarily wildlife but at end of milky way 'season' this year I got the bug for landscape milky way images but for something to try in Winter months I am looking to try more deep space astrophotography. I have a Sony 600 mm F4 lens, Sony A1 & Sony A9 & looking to buy the Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer which I can use for my Milky way shots next year with wide lenses and has a payload of 5kg which I think should be ok for my camera, 600mm lens, & tripod head?........Does anyone use a similar set up to this and if so any tips on tripod head, general set up & use ?

#2 james7ca

james7ca

Voyager 1

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 27 October 2021 - 06:00 AM

You're welcome to try but I don't think a Star Adventurer will work very well with a 600mm telephoto lens. Might be better with the Sony A9 given that camera's larger pixels which will make tracking less critical and also allow you to use shorter exposures. Remember to turn off the image stabilization before you use either camera for astrophotography.

If the 600mm lens doesn't work out (I'd be very surprised if it did unless you use very short exposure times, certainly less than 30 seconds, maybe 10 or 15) I'd try something in the 200mm and shorter range.

Edited by james7ca, 27 October 2021 - 06:00 AM.

• Raginar, ks__observer, Ibuprofen200mg and 1 other like this

#3 jmurra31

jmurra31

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 October 2021 - 06:06 AM