•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

STAR HOPPING....

• Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#1 clusterbuster

clusterbuster

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa Bay, Fl.

Posted 18 November 2021 - 02:28 AM

I have been observing since I was 19 years old, (45 years)..

I have enjoyed STAR HOPPING and I will continue to STAR HOP.

I have owned several Go To Mounts, and I basically would check them out for accuracy, then only use them for their TRACKING MODE.

I wonder how all of these computerized mounts will change the art of star hopping.

To me, it is a lot of fun.

A good star hopper (which is what I consider myself because of so much experience) can find DSOs quicker than Go To Mounts..

My Star Atlases are some of my prize possessions..

Give me a BIG DOB, a DARK SKY and a GOOD STAR ATLAS and I am a happy camper !

I actually was observing with a girl at our dark sky site that used setting circles and she had good success at finding things also.

In any event, GET OUT THERE AND OBSERVE, no matter how you do it, JUST ENJOY...

Mark

• Jon Isaacs, esd726, Carl Kolchak and 18 others like this

#2 The Ardent

The Ardent

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Virginia

Posted 18 November 2021 - 02:44 AM

Mark 

I was shocked to discover that the Messier list was a recent invention . Because Go-To wasn’t around in the 1700’s . It preposterous to think he could have found faint fuzzies without a computer. 

• Dave Mitsky, mashirts and clusterbuster like this

#3 clusterbuster

clusterbuster

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa Bay, Fl.

Posted 18 November 2021 - 02:51 AM

Mark 

I was shocked to discover that the Messier list was a recent invention . Because Go-To wasn’t around in the 1700’s . It preposterous to think he could have found faint fuzzies without a computer. 

Hi Ray,