•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on new scope for a couple of newbies - ES FirstLight 80mm

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 DeeperNeuralNets

DeeperNeuralNets

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 November 2021 - 01:39 AM

Hi all,

I'm considering a telescope that I want to gift my wife (and myself smile.gif). We are both complete newbies in astronomy and are looking to get into this hobby more seriously; although I do have some very limited experience doing astrophotography using my mirrorless - without tracking.

In my hunt for a good scope that satisfies our need for visual astronomy, and to some extent astrophotography (both planets and DSOs), I have come across the ES FirstLight 80mm Telescope with Go-To Tracker Combo: https://explorescien...0mm-go-to-combo

Searching this forum and the internets, it seems this one could be a good starter scope, and it comes paired with an equatorial mount. However, I am not able to determine if this scope is going to be useful for visual astronomy as-is. Since we would like to observe planets at the least, what eyepieces will I need to buy in order to get started.

Alternately, I am open to other suggestions as well. My budget is around $800 for scope and mount. For proper astrophotography, I will eventually go for Star Adventurer, but I won't be buying that until mid next year. So for now, I am looking to get a scope that will primarily be suitable for visual astronomy, but also allow me to get some beginners' experience in astrophotography. Although I live in a Bortle 5-6 zone in SoCal, I would like to have the ability to take the scope out whenever I go to dark sky places.

Thanks in advance for your inputs.

• sevenofnine likes this

#2 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Hubble

Posted 28 November 2021 - 02:11 AM