•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Cross shaped stars in image

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Vikr

Vikr

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 November 2021 - 01:00 PM

Hi everyone, I am just beginning to start astrophotography. Recently I tested out my equipment and I have a couple of questions.

Firstly, I use a Nikon D90, Skywatcher 130 PDS and an EQM 35 pro mount as my setup.

I decided to point my telescope at the Double Cluster last night just to see if everything was working properly.

I took 50 or so 10 second subs at ISO 800. However, upon examining the photos I noticed there are cross shaped stars in the image, mainly towards the fringes. I have attached a close up of the bottom right part of one 10 second sub. Is this an issue with tracking or vibrations, or perhaps an issue with collimation? problem.jpg

Another question: when I tried processing the image in GIMP, I noticed a discernible darker ring around the fringes of the stacked image. Is this coma and should I invest in a coma corrector or can I correct in GIMP?

Thanks everybody for your help!

#2 astrokeith

astrokeith

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Surrey, UK

Posted 29 November 2021 - 01:11 PM

Looks like simple (very) bad collimation.

How are you doing your collimation, and do you star test afterwards?

#3 Vikr

Vikr

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 November 2021 - 02:27 PM

Looks like simple (very) bad collimation.

How are you doing your collimation, and do you star test afterwards?

Hi Keith,

Thanks for the quick reply. I am doing my collimation using the collimation option AstroPhotography tool. Thanks for pointing this out, I was unsure as to whether this was collimation so I will try to recollimate. I neglected to do a star test this time.

Best,

Vikram

#4 mayhem13

mayhem13

Viking 1

• Loc: New Jersey