•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Camera Settings for a Beginner

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Jehujones

Jehujones

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Simi Valley, CA.

Posted 02 December 2021 - 12:08 AM

Can anyone help me out with suggestions for camera settings?

I'm a very simple beginner with very simple tools.

I'll be in a Bortle 4 location this weekend with a 12" F4.9 scope.

I have a Fujifilm XT-10 body at prime focus.

My mount is non-eq and tracks alt-az (field rotation)

I really would love to image M33 but I have no clue what ISO or Shutter speed to use.

Are there maybe better galaxies to try instead?

M31 is too big to fit in the frame which seems to be about 45" x 30" or 3/4o x 1/2o

I appreciate any help

#2 daveco2

daveco2

Ranger 4

• Loc: Torrance, CA

Posted 02 December 2021 - 01:20 AM

Here's a good website where you can see an M33 sample.  Looks like iso 800, 5 minute exposures would be a good place to start.  That's a pretty long focal length.  You'll need good tracking.

https://www.galactic...iangulum-galaxy

Edited by daveco2, 02 December 2021 - 01:21 AM.

• Jehujones likes this

#3 TelescopeGreg

TelescopeGreg

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Auburn, California, USA

Posted 02 December 2021 - 01:33 AM

I'm thinking it's going to be tough.  I'd start with a really high ISO (like, max it out) and see what you get with a short exposure (few seconds?).  See if you can get the peak the histogram on the back of the camera to move off the left edge a bit (ideally 1/4 of the way), and see if the stars are dots or wiggles.  Keep lowering ISO and lengthening the exposures, as long as you're getting dots.  If you get to an ISO around 800 (or whatever is best for your camera), that will be good - best noise and dynamic range combination.