•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Sky-Watcher Virtuoso 90mm f/13.9 Maksutov-Cassegrain not tracking

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rrrccc57

rrrccc57

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 December 2021 - 05:22 PM

Hello, 

First I am a noob.

I purchased a Sky-Watcher Virtuoso 90mm f/13.9 Maksutov-Cassegrain in March of 2021 and am just getting started with it. Yes it sat around for a while; I had other things on my plate. I did assemble it and played with it a little but I seem to be having tracking issues, that is, it doesn't seem to be tracking at all. 

I did the preliminary setup and the mount seems to slew fine but doesn't seem to move at all when "tracking".

I replaced the batteries more than once but it just doesn't seem to do anything. As a test I set it up in my living room, leveled it, pointed it north and just turned it on. I expected to see a noticeable position change, I waited an hour... nothing. The lights flash and the beeps beep but it doesn't move/track. The mechanics seem to be fine in that I can slew with the keypad buttons, alt/az up, down, left, right.

Is there something that I'm missing? 

Thanks in advance

RC

Edited by rrrccc57, 03 December 2021 - 05:34 PM.

#2 Bean614

Bean614

Vanguard

• Loc: Mass.

Posted 03 December 2021 - 06:35 PM

You WON'T notice any movement whatsoever,  unless you look through the eyepiece! It tracks THAT slowly,  as it is supposed to!

It takes 24 hours(!) just to make one full Revolution.  I believe your Owner's Manual explains all this.

#3 rrrccc57

rrrccc57

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 December 2021 - 07:18 PM

Hello, 

Thanks for your reply. It's possible I wasn't completely clear in my original post. I understand tracking would be very slow. Perhaps a review of how I got here is in order. 

how I got here