•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

whats your pi workflow for lrgb imaging

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 iwols

iwols

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: doncaster uk

Posted 04 December 2021 - 08:00 AM

well after watching hours and hours(and hours) of tutorials all which seem to do things slightly different ,just wondered what your workflow is, in as much detail as possible.My method is very hit and miss(mainly miss frown.gif ) thankswaytogo.gif

#2 imtl

imtl

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Down in a hole

Posted 04 December 2021 - 08:27 AM

It will depend on object as usual but there are some basic stuff. Maybe this will help you.

• iwols likes this

#3 kathyastro

kathyastro

Soyuz

• Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 04 December 2021 - 08:29 AM

My workflow is mostly self-taught.  Most of the good information about PI is in videos, which I find annoying.  I hate giving 20 minutes of my life just to learn "What does this button do?"  However, I get decent results.  So I don't necessarily do things the "right" way.

I start by processing the Luminance.  The first step is a basic noise reduction using the NR feature of the Multiscale Linear Transform.  Then, depending on the image, possible Dynamic Background Extraction. 

Common wisdom has it that Deconvolution is best done in the linear state.  I have never gotten decent results doing that, but you do need to measure the point-spread function (PSF) for deconvolution in the linear state.  So I run DynamicPSF next and save the PSF image for later.