•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ROR project questions

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 davidpitre

davidpitre

Aurora

• topic starter
  • Loc: Central Texas

Posted 05 December 2021 - 02:40 PM

I’m beginning a new ROR. Roughly 11’x 17’ with 6’ tall walls and a fold down south wall. Though I am new to observatories, I’ve got construction experience and am a good welder. Rather than dredge up a bunch of old threads with new questions, I thought I’d put my questions in a single thread. Thanks in advance.
1. I’m at a loss as to how to capture the roof so as to not lose it in high winds. I have seen large hook and eye bolts for when it’s closed. Any other ideas?
2. V groove track on one side vs 2 sides?
3. Most roofs seem to be asphalt shingles. It seems metal roofing has advantages. I’m wanting as low a pitch as possible. 12:1 with metal?
4. My roof will roll north and I am concerned with Polaris not being obscured. I thought about a hipped roof, but that precludes standard trusses. Ideas?
  • lee14 likes this

#2 macdonjh

macdonjh

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 05 December 2021 - 02:55 PM

I’m beginning a new ROR. Roughly 11’x 17’ with 6’ tall walls and a fold down south wall. Though I am new to observatories, I’ve got construction experience and am a good welder. Rather than dredge up a bunch of old threads with new questions, I thought I’d put my questions in a single thread. Thanks in advance.
1. I’m at a loss as to how to capture the roof so as to not lose it in high winds. I have seen large hook and eye bolts for when it’s closed. Any other ideas?
3. Most roofs seem to be asphalt shingles. It seems metal roofing has advantages. I’m wanting as low a pitch as possible. 12:1 with metal?