•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Asteroid observing in light pollution with color camera

Astrometry Astrophotography Beginner Filters
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 martinrw

martinrw

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 December 2021 - 09:01 PM

I am a newbie and just now gathering equipment and software to do asteroid astrometry. I live in a light polluted area and need to find something to reduce effects of light pollution. I have read info on several light pollution filters but I know the filter will reduce the light from an asteroid also. What can I do?

Also I got a good deal from a friend on a nice astrocamera, the ZWO ASI294MC-Pro. Problem is it is a color camera and nothing I have read in Astrometrica software mentions any processing for color images. Is there some preprocessing that I must do?

I need any help.

#2 ted_barnes

ted_barnes

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 05 December 2021 - 09:58 PM

Hello martinrw,