•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner kit for DSO - Suggestions?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Toolopeth_radiohead

Toolopeth_radiohead

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 December 2021 - 10:53 AM

Feels weird when I think "Am I even asking the right questions?". But here goes nothing.
I am a novice when it comes to astrophotography. I've been lucky enough to live in a remote area (Bortle 2-3) and I've spent almost 6 months enjoying visual only astronomy. Lately I've started imaging planets with my 10 inch dob with ASI224MC. And I'm itching to get into DSO imaging. I've done some "research" and I know I'd need a startracker, a good quality mount and a DSLR (or a dedicated deep space camera).

Definition of "Kit" to consider the following question:

Kit: All necessary equipments to get started with DSO imaging.

Now, I know it's not a cheap hobby, but there's certainly room to exponentially grow and upgrade your kit. So I would love to start off slowly, but definitely wouldn't want to spend on a namesake kit that'd ruin my experience.

So my request is -

Please suggest what mount + tripod, a goto tracker, camera (and what else?) I should invest on that'll help me enjoy the hobby at an optimum investment ($2000)?
  • Butlerhd likes this

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 06 December 2021 - 11:23 AM

Two good options.  One a bit below $2000, one a bit over.  In each case I'll start with the most important piece, the mount.  That fact (the mount is the most important bit) is something you need to internalize, right now.

$300-500 camera tracker.  I like the iOptron Skyguider Pro, there are other good options.