•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for advice to improve images

• Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 adamsdp

adamsdp

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 December 2021 - 01:10 PM

I am a beginner who is interested in taking the next steps to improve upon the images I have been getting with my EAA setup - C6/f6.7 reducer/ZWO filter wheel/ASI 533 camera/ASIAir pro/Celestron Evolution mount.  I took the image below recently.   10 sec subs, 20 frames, gain 100, Optolong UHC filter, Bortle 7 skies

It was hazy with a thin cloud layer but even without the clouds, there is a lot of room for improvement compared to images I have seen with similar or same equipment and conditions.  I am planning to incorporate dark and flat frames and wanted to ask which of the non-light frames make the biggest gains in image quality in case I incorporate one type at a time.  Are some types of non-light frames that with my equipment would make only a small improvement and might not be worth doing?  Any general advice will also be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!

M31

IMG_0803.JPG

Edited by adamsdp, 07 December 2021 - 10:27 AM.

#2 John Miele

John Miele

Aurora

• Loc: North Alabama

Posted 06 December 2021 - 01:47 PM

Do you mean you want better real time views on your laptop or do you want better images to post and share?

If you are after the latter, I would advise you to move to the AP side of the house and start learning in the BDSI forum. It looks like you have the gear to produce some very nice AP.

Apologies if I have your intent wrong...

cs...John

• adamsdp and Older Padawan like this

#3 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 06 December 2021 - 01:48 PM