•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on equipment

Accessories Beginner Equipment Eyepieces Filters Dob
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 JayLarb

JayLarb

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 January 2022 - 04:14 AM

Hi, I’m completely new to the whole astronomy side of things. I’ve always loved space and that but have never owned or even looked through a decent telescope. I have decided that I now want to make this a permanent hobby after falling in love with it even looking at the moon through some cheap binoculars. I have been doing some research over the past week and I narrowed it down to two telescopes:

Dob 150p https://www.firstlig...ut_this_product

OR

Dob 200p https://www.firstlig...-dobsonian.html

Both of these telescopes have great reviews so I think I’ve ultimately decided on maybe the 150p as it allows a little bit of budget for some extra eyepieces and/or filters to go with it - from what I’ve read, these are pretty important to budget in?

So, do you think this is right choice to make for a beginner and if so, do you have any advice on which eyepieces/filters to invest in to make my experience better?

Thanks!
  • Sacred Heart likes this

#2 luxo II

luxo II

Fly Me to the Moon

• ****-
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 15 January 2022 - 04:23 AM

If it’s going to be a dob, get the largest aperture you can (200mm).

It’s also worth noting 200mm brings an interesting number of galaxies within reach in dark skies, whereas those visible in a 150mm you can count on 1 hand.

Edited by luxo II, 15 January 2022 - 04:24 AM.

#3 JayLarb

JayLarb

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 January 2022 - 04:35 AM