•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help Attaching ASI6200 to Meade 10in ACF SCT

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 justasecond

justasecond

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2022 - 07:08 PM

I have a Meade LX600 10in F8 ACF telescope and hope to use it for remote DSO imaging. I am new to the hobby and having a few issues.
I have been struggling with a couple of questions about the scope's specifications (primarily back focus and field curvature). I don't know where to find the parts I need or even what those parts are supposed to be.  I have to be honest, when I purchased the scope, I had no clue what I was getting into, so those questions came as a challenge and I started  researching information about my Meade scope for remote imaging. The two biggest questions are - what is the published back focus for the scope (and by extension, what do I want to add to the image train to achieve the best result).  I would like to find and purchase an automatic focuser I can control remotely via pc or asiair.  Finally whether the scope produces a flat field for larger sensors (again, I have no experience with these scopes should i put some device to corrected for field curvature.

Currently my meade came with a 2" sct to 1 1/4 eyepiece holder adapter that screws on to the rear cell port.  Clearly this is not going to work. 
I want to attach my ASI6200MM camera.  The 6200 is a full-frame sensor (36 x 24 mm). This has the SONY IMX455 CMOS. 62 Mega Pixels. 9576*6388.
Basically.  I am hoping to attach a 4/3 sensor and achieving a fairly flat field. I don't know any other specifics - like if I am to be using a reducer or a flattener in their imaging train.
I would like to know if Meade has officially published the scope's back focus anywhere?  Is there is anything on Meade's website?