•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First attempt at NGC2244, feedback welcome

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 tita

tita

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pacific NW

Posted 23 January 2022 - 04:34 AM

This is my first attempt at the Rosette nebula. I am starting with AP and this is my second DSO image so far that turned out reasonably good.

My setup for this image:

AT72EDII

RST-135

ZWO533MC pro

L-Xtreme

I took 58 subs of 5 minutes each over two nights. I had darks and bias but no flats, will do that tomorrow. Used DSS to stack and processed lightly in Gimp, just used levels and curves.

The image is cropped some because I do not have a field flattener and the stars around the edges were getting quite elongated. Besides that, is there anything else I should try during imaging? For processing the image, what workflow to you recommend for someone starting? Should I stick with Gimp or try something else? Thanks in advance.

Attached Thumbnails

• NGC2244_Jan2022 (784x800).jpg

• F.Meiresonne, mikewayne3, Ljubo and 10 others like this

#2 EPinNC

EPinNC

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Raleigh, NC, USA

Posted 23 January 2022 - 04:46 AM

Wow -- That's a beautiful image!

I'm not at your level yet, but from what I understand, yes, a field flattener is good/essential for many small refractors.

As for processing... You'll get a lot of opinions here.  My opinion is that if you're getting results this good with DSS and GIMP, then use those.  Your skill is at least as important as what tools you use.

Thanks for sharing!  I hope to do as well soon.

#3 tita

tita

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 January 2022 - 04:57 AM