•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

N.I.N.A. and autofocus after meridian flip

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 fmazzanti

fmazzanti

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 January 2022 - 03:20 AM

Hi folks,

I'm a beginner N.I.N.A. user who is anyway enjoying it a lot, using it with my TEC140 on a Paramount MX mount.
Everything works nicely but I have found a weird behaviour... I have it configured in the (simple) sequencer so as to autofocus right after meridian cross, and that systematically fails for no apparent reason :(
I'm using an Optec FocusLynx with a Handy Stepper motor on the TEC140. This has been working very well for the last years without problems.
In my regular workflow I start imaging an object that is about 30 to 40 degrees high East, so that I can take advantage of almost all night imaging it. When the object is East of the meridian, I can successfuly autofocus every 5 images or so, no problem. But when the meridian flip occurs, it can not focus anymore, it says:

"Error: determined focus point position is outside of the overall measurement points of the curve. Fitting is incorrect and autofocus settings most likely incorrect."

Now the statement is clear about my settings, though I followed this link to adjust them

https://www.youtube....h?v=lHrfaR7A0L0

and systematically get an R^2 value of 0.98 or 0.99 when I try to autofocus East of the meridian (not in a sequence, but testing it).

What could be the cause for that? DO you have any suggestion here about what parameters to change?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Ferran.

#2 happylimpet

happylimpet

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 24 January 2022 - 06:26 AM

What does the autofocus curve look like, and is it finding plenty of stars in the focus frames? I think you really need to watch it focusing to find out whats wrong.