Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

StarNet v2 help requests

  • Please log in to reply
225 replies to this topic

#201 Paul Romero

Paul Romero

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,631
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 25 September 2023 - 07:00 PM

Hi guys,

 

I tried to install Starnet 2 on the latest PI -2 version on a Mac, but I got this error message in PI:

Installing 1 module(s):
/Applications/PixInsight/bin/StarNet2-pxm.dylib
<* failed *>
*** PixInsight API Error: Module: /Applications/PixInsight/bin/StarNet2-pxm.dylib: Module initialization error: Exit code: 1
** Warning: No modules were installed.

 

I was wondering if anyone can help or knew what this is?

 

Clear Skies,

 

Paul



#202 Kidogod

Kidogod

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2021
  • Loc: NorthCentral PA

Posted 26 September 2023 - 05:28 PM

I hope I'm not the only Mac guy here.

I just downloaded StarNet CLT for my MacOS.

Went into Siril to get it to point to starnet++ but it says I don't have permission to do that.

Anyone else in the universe run into this?



#203 OzViking

OzViking

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 19 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 26 September 2023 - 06:43 PM

No, you're not the only Mac user here.

 

You're probably bumping into Apple's security features - any software that is not digitally signed and notarised by a registered developer is not allowed to run.

 

To get around it, open a new 'Finder' windows and navigate to where the starnet++ program is located. Right-click on the starnet++ program and select 'Open' from the drop-down menu. You should get a warning window saying the program can't be run. Click 'Close' or 'OK' - whatever is NOT the 'Move to Trash' option.

 

Right-click starnet++ again and select open once more. This time, you should get a slightly different security window. Select the 'Open' or 'OK' - again, whatever is not the 'Move to Trash' option.  This should have told your Mac that you really want to open starnet++ and to stop bothering you.

 

I'm doing all this from memory, so I might have the exact details wrong. Hopefully what I've written is enough to get you up and running.

 

Regards,

V.



#204 Kidogod

Kidogod

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2021
  • Loc: NorthCentral PA

Posted 26 September 2023 - 07:12 PM

The first time I was instructed by some site online to open terminal and basically tell it that starnet++ is Ok. 

Did what you suggested and I thought I was good to go until I went into Siril and attempted perform a star reduction, but nothing would happen.

 

So I trashed starnet and reloaded it. Comes in as a text file. Reperformed yo0ur suggestion and it indeed said are you sure...? I said yes, only then it opens in textedit. Closed that. Went back into Siril, reconnected it, now I'm gettin what the Windoze guys on Deep Space Astro on Youtube are getting. Basically you can't use me. Rich from that site says its a processor problem, that it doesn't have the AVX instruction set.

Don't even know what that is.



#205 starhunter50

starhunter50

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 869
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Tilbury,Ontario 42N , 82W

Posted 26 September 2023 - 08:02 PM

im terrified to install Starnet2++ at the risk of overwriting CUDA dll Tensorflow and loosing my Nvidia speed. for Star Exterminator and other!



#206 mjanzou

mjanzou

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 943
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2017
  • Loc: So. Oregon

Posted 26 September 2023 - 10:06 PM

I'm a windows guy and run siril/starnet++/cuda on win11, that being disclosed mac folks have several prereq's to address.

 

1. For those experiencing siril permission issues, check out the MacOS tips on this page:

 

https://siril.readth...rs/starnet.html

 

2/3. Does your MAC have an intel cpu (that supports AVX) or M1/M2 cpu? and are you running with siril or PI?

Read the notes on the download page and view the readme.txt in the experimental M1 version zip package for install instructions.

There is also a PI -2 note regarding the 'no modules were installed' error.... RED banner, cant miss it.

 

For intel based macs/siril use MacOS clt version 2.0.0 here:

 

https://www.starnetastro.com/download/

 

For M1/M2 based macs/siril use the MacOS experimental cli here:

Kindly providing feedback to the developer of any issues...

 

https://www.starneta...m/experimental/


  • nekitmm likes this

#207 Laurelicious

Laurelicious

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2023

Posted 01 October 2023 - 09:08 PM

Help please. I've been an astronomer for about two months, so talk slowly and don't assume I'm techy. I'm trying to download StarNet++ to Siril. I downloaded the Windows version under Command Line Tool in StarNet's download page. I unzipped the file and put the file called starnet++.exe in the "Software Location" box in Siril. But when I'm working on my TIFF image in Siril, and I try to do the remove stars command, the execute button is not lit up as an option even when I opted for Pre-stretch linear image. What did I do wrong? 



#208 pfile

pfile

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6,402
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2009

Posted 02 October 2023 - 10:55 AM

Hi guys,

 

I tried to install Starnet 2 on the latest PI -2 version on a Mac, but I got this error message in PI:

Installing 1 module(s):
/Applications/PixInsight/bin/StarNet2-pxm.dylib
<* failed *>
*** PixInsight API Error: Module: /Applications/PixInsight/bin/StarNet2-pxm.dylib: Module initialization error: Exit code: 1
** Warning: No modules were installed.

 

I was wondering if anyone can help or knew what this is?

 

Clear Skies,

 

Paul

 

did you figure this out? it is probably related to nikita's note #2 on the download page for osx. in other words a bug in PI where if you click on the module name in the list before you click "install", PI won't install the module.

 

rob



#209 Paul Romero

Paul Romero

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,631
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 04 October 2023 - 01:18 PM

Hi Rob,

No it did not work for me. I am still looking for a way forward, which may be…to trash the whole install and start again. I am running Mac OS 17…the one just came out.

Clear Skies,

Paul

#210 pfile

pfile

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6,402
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2009

Posted 05 October 2023 - 05:21 PM

Hi Rob,

No it did not work for me. I am still looking for a way forward, which may be…to trash the whole install and start again. I am running Mac OS 17…the one just came out.

Clear Skies,

Paul

i think you might have posted about this in the PI forum? its starting to sound like there are problems between Sonoma and pixinsight but juan has not acknowledged any of them.

 

rob


  • Paul Romero likes this

#211 ahclem

ahclem

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25 May 2022
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 23 October 2023 - 02:01 PM

(Posted this in another topic before realizing this was the place for it.)

 

Total Terminal noob here trying to install the Experimental Mac version on my first generation (M1) Mac Studio running Monterey 12.6.9 for use in Siril. Here's what's happened so far:

 

- Initially, I just opened Terminal and ran the listed ReadMe commands, but Terminal told me it couldn’t find “install.sh”

- Google told me that I had to change the working directory to the downloaded Starnet folder, which I did.

 

- Once again entered the installation commands. After the second command, Terminal requested my password (which I gave it) and then issued the following:

cp: directory /usr/local/bin does not exist
cp: /usr/local/lib is not a directory

I’m probably missing something incredibly simple that an experienced Terminal/Unix user would know, but not being an experienced Terminal/Unix user, I’m stumped.

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks.

 

- Marco



#212 ahclem

ahclem

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25 May 2022
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 02 November 2023 - 08:00 PM

Just re-upping this. Has anybody succeeded in installing the experimental version on a Mac Studio using the installation commands in the included ReadMe?

 

Thanks.



#213 Paul Romero

Paul Romero

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,631
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 03 November 2023 - 12:03 PM

Hi,

Has ANYONE been able to install Starnet 2 for PI on MAC OS “ Sonoma” yet?

Clear Skies,

Paul

#214 pfile

pfile

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6,402
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2009

Posted 03 November 2023 - 04:17 PM

Just re-upping this. Has anybody succeeded in installing the experimental version on a Mac Studio using the installation commands in the included ReadMe?

 

Thanks.

what does "ls -lt /usr/local/bin" (without the quotes) return? 

 

how about "file /usr/local/bin" (again without quotes)

 

it sounds like perhaps the directory /usr/local/bin did not exist and you may have copied something to that location, which means /usr/local/bin is now a file (perhaps one of the tensorflow dylibs...)

 

rob


Edited by pfile, 03 November 2023 - 04:18 PM.


#215 ahclem

ahclem

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 25 May 2022
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 04 November 2023 - 04:00 PM

what does "ls -lt /usr/local/bin" (without the quotes) return?

 

how about "file /usr/local/bin" (again without quotes)

 

it sounds like perhaps the directory /usr/local/bin did not exist and you may have copied something to that location, which means /usr/local/bin is now a file (perhaps one of the tensorflow dylibs...)

 

rob

Mac-Studio:~ marco$ ls -lt /usr/local/bin
ls: /usr/local/bin: No such file or directory

 

Mac-Studio:~ marco$ file /usr/local/bin
/usr/local/bin: cannot open `/usr/local/bin' (No such file or directory)

 

So there doesn't seem to be anything there at all. No idea what that means. The installer script certainly seems to expect there to be something there.



#216 pfile

pfile

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6,402
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2009

Posted 04 November 2023 - 09:55 PM

Mac-Studio:~ marco$ ls -lt /usr/local/bin
ls: /usr/local/bin: No such file or directory

 

Mac-Studio:~ marco$ file /usr/local/bin
/usr/local/bin: cannot open `/usr/local/bin' (No such file or directory)

 

So there doesn't seem to be anything there at all. No idea what that means. The installer script certainly seems to expect there to be something there.

 

well, you can just make the directory... /usr/local probably exists, so you can try "mkdir /usr/local/bin" and see if it succeeds. it could be that /usr/local is owned by the root user, and so you will need to do "sudo mkdir /usr/local/bin". the terminal will ask you to input your login password so that sudo gets the permissions it needs to "become" the root user and create the directory.

 

after that you can try the installation again.

 

rob



#217 fetoma

fetoma

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,186
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Southern NJ

Posted 20 November 2023 - 10:43 AM

Has anyone been able to install Starnet 2 on Linux Mint? I put all the files where they need to be and PI can't find the module.



#218 Paul Romero

Paul Romero

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,631
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 24 November 2023 - 11:54 PM

Hi,

Has ANYONE been able to install Starnet 2 for PI on MAC OS “ Sonoma” yet?

Clear Skies,

Paul

Hi guys,

 

Well, alls well that ends well...after several weeks of waiting, I think they must have done some tweaks in the latest version of Starnet and/or Pixinsight. After a complete trash and reinstall of Pixinight and Starnet 2, I was able to get it installed by following the notes on starnetastro.com. I am running OSX "Sonoma".

 

Clear Skies,

 

Paul 

 

P.S. Easy Processing Suite is up and running too!


  • pfile likes this

#219 jcf2001

jcf2001

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2009
  • Loc: Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted 04 January 2024 - 12:39 PM

I have StarNet (version StarNetv2CLI_MacOS) installed and set up with Siril 1.2.0 on my iMac running macOS Mojave 10.14.6.

When I try to launch Starnet from Siril the "Execute" button on the popup window is disabled. See screen shot below.

 

I have checked the permissions of the Starnet files.

I have allowed non-apple program to run in the security section of system preferences.

I have tried to run starnet++ from the command line and it appears to run.

I have tried reinstalling starnet on a different drive and that did not fix the problem.

 

Any ideas why this is happening and how to fix?

 

Screen Shot 2024-01-04 at 12.17.30 PM.png

 

Thanks,

Jack



#220 beerboyuk

beerboyuk

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2020

Posted 15 January 2024 - 11:10 AM

Just re-upping this. Has anybody succeeded in installing the experimental version on a Mac Studio using the installation commands in the included ReadMe?

 

Thanks.

You need to run the install script in elevated mode (sudo) as it copies to a restricted area before running the commands in the script. The directory does not exist which is why you had the issue. Note the last line that copies an essential file:

 

#!/bin/bash
cp ./starnet2 /usr/local/bin/
cp ./lib/* /usr/local/lib/
cp StarNet2_weights.pt /usr/local/bin/


Edited by beerboyuk, 15 January 2024 - 11:27 AM.


#221 MellO

MellO

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2024

Posted 25 January 2024 - 06:46 PM

Hopefully this is the correct thread. I'm new to Siril ad Starnet. I'm on a Win 10 system and have Siril 1.2.0 installed. I downloaded Starnet CLI app within the last 2 weeks and l successfully linked it to Siril. When processing my star field with Starnet it runs and processes but fails at the very end of the operation. I get a "Error: unable to read StarNet output file" error message. When I look at the working folder I can see where Starnet generated a star_net.tif file. Any ideas as to what's happening?



#222 jcf2001

jcf2001

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: 27 Mar 2009
  • Loc: Beavercreek, Ohio

Posted 27 January 2024 - 01:00 PM

On my iMac, OS Mojave 10.14.6, I have installed the latest command line version of Starnet++ (StarNetv2CLI_MacOS).

 

When I try to run Starnet++ using the run_starnet.sh script this is what happens:

[BugsBunny]:(208)%run_starnet.sh
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libtensorflow.2.dylib
  Referenced from: /Volumes/External HD/SirilProcessingTools/StarNetv2CLI_MacOS/./starnet++
  Reason: no suitable image found.  Did find:
	./libtensorflow.2.dylib: cannot load 'libtensorflow.2.dylib' (load command 0x80000034 is unknown)
	./libtensorflow.2.dylib: stat() failed with errno=1
./run_starnet.sh: line 2:  1030 Abort trap: 6           ./starnet++ rgb_test5.tif rgb_test5_s.tif
[BugsBunny]:(209)%

Has anyone seen this before and know how to resolve the error?

 

Thanks,

Jack



#223 pfile

pfile

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6,402
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2009

Posted 28 January 2024 - 12:08 AM

On my iMac, OS Mojave 10.14.6, I have installed the latest command line version of Starnet++ (StarNetv2CLI_MacOS).

 

When I try to run Starnet++ using the run_starnet.sh script this is what happens:

[BugsBunny]:(208)%run_starnet.sh
dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libtensorflow.2.dylib
  Referenced from: /Volumes/External HD/SirilProcessingTools/StarNetv2CLI_MacOS/./starnet++
  Reason: no suitable image found.  Did find:
	./libtensorflow.2.dylib: cannot load 'libtensorflow.2.dylib' (load command 0x80000034 is unknown)
	./libtensorflow.2.dylib: stat() failed with errno=1
./run_starnet.sh: line 2:  1030 Abort trap: 6           ./starnet++ rgb_test5.tif rgb_test5_s.tif
[BugsBunny]:(209)%

Has anyone seen this before and know how to resolve the error?

 

Thanks,

Jack

you can't... 10.14.6 is way too old against the latest tensorflow. see the answer in this question on stack overflow.

 

https://stackoverflo...0034-is-unknown



#224 lmclouth

lmclouth

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Davison, MI

Posted 07 February 2024 - 10:34 PM

I use StarNet v2 2.1.1-0126 on a Windows 10 Pro laptop in the latest PixInsight 1.8.9-2 build 1597.  And I've recently noticed that StarNet2 is causing the histogram on the far left side to be truncated (for a better term.)

Here is the histogram of an image before I run SN2:

Histogram before SN2.jpg

 

And here's the histogram of the starless image after running SN2:

Histogram after SN2.jpg

 

On some images, I've noticed that the histogram is even worse with the spike on the left going much higher.

What is causing this?

This "truncation" does not happen when using StarXTerminator to remove the stars.

 

Thanks for the help,

 

Lamar

 



#225 lmclouth

lmclouth

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Davison, MI

Posted 21 February 2024 - 12:57 PM

I use StarNet v2 2.1.1-0126 on a Windows 10 Pro laptop in the latest PixInsight 1.8.9-2 build 1597.  And I've recently noticed that StarNet2 is causing the histogram on the far left side to be truncated (for a better term.)

Here is the histogram of an image before I run SN2:

attachicon.gif Histogram before SN2.jpg

 

And here's the histogram of the starless image after running SN2:

attachicon.gif Histogram after SN2.jpg

 

On some images, I've noticed that the histogram is even worse with the spike on the left going much higher.

What is causing this?

This "truncation" does not happen when using StarXTerminator to remove the stars.

 

Thanks for the help,

 

Lamar

 

Apparently the author does NOT check this forum even though they say they do on their website.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics