•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Writing For Your Club's Newsletter

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 mloffland

mloffland

Mercury-Atlas

• topic starter

Posted 26 October 2006 - 10:53 AM

Writing For Your Club's Newsletter
By: John Crilly

#2 Erix

Erix

Toad Lily

Posted 26 October 2006 - 01:24 PM

Thanks for that, John. You certainly put together some thoughtful guidelines for us to follow and in a way that makes the projects not so intimidating for us to start.

#3 Paul WB

Paul WB

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 26 October 2006 - 03:29 PM

Great article, John. I am an editor for the Ottawa Centre of the RASC (Royal Astronomy Society of Canada), and I would like to borrow your article for being a guide for club members to submit articles. Thanks for the article.

#4 Todd

Todd

Surveyor 1

Posted 26 October 2006 - 07:41 PM

One thing to keep in mind too is that YOU keep your club's newsletter alive. Don't be afraid to write an article and submit it to the editor. If you don't think that you can write well enough, try co-authoring one with someone else.

Not every article will or can be used but nonetheless, a newsletter is only as good as it's members make it.

#5 Peter Argenziano

Peter Argenziano

Watcher of the Skies

Posted 26 October 2006 - 09:17 PM

Amen to that, Todd. I've had to write too much material for some issues, just to fill up the space. Our newsletter -- The Voyager -- is usually 16 pages. Last month was an exception, it was 20. I keep it in multiples of four because it is duplex printed on 11x17 sheets, folded and saddle-stapled (8½x11 signature booklet), and the imposition requires multiples of four to eliminate blank pages at the end.

#6 stevecoe

stevecoe

Astronomical Tourist

• In Memoriam

Posted 30 October 2006 - 08:43 PM