Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

GraXpert, a new, free, and open source tool for gradient removal in deep sky photos

  • Please log in to reply
137 replies to this topic

#26 dciobota

dciobota

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,735
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2007
  • Loc: No longer on this site in protest of poor site moderation

Posted 02 January 2023 - 07:34 PM

Very nice, I just tried it out on my Mac, and it did a great job. I like how when you add points to the grid it moves them to make sure you don't go over a star. Clever.

Maybe I'm not seeing the grid in mine? How do you turn on the grid thing and add points? That sounds more like dbe in pixinsight?

#27 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,215
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 02 January 2023 - 07:56 PM

Maybe I'm not seeing the grid in mine? How do you turn on the grid thing and add points? That sounds more like dbe in pixinsight?

Sorry, it's not a grid per se, but a grid of points. It will automatically create them similar to the way PixInsight dynamic background extraction. And it will automatically not put them over bright areas, but you can manually add them as necessary. There's a button on the left panel to do this.



#28 dciobota

dciobota

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,735
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2007
  • Loc: No longer on this site in protest of poor site moderation

Posted 02 January 2023 - 08:58 PM

I need to look into this, maybe I have an old version or something.

#29 arbit

arbit

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,401
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2012

Posted 02 January 2023 - 10:04 PM

It's very good especially the Kriging algorithm for my 17mpsas skies!

Standalone app is slow though, but the Siril version is much faster (but that only has polynomial and RBF).


Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

#30 Cdnpilot

Cdnpilot

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2013

Posted 06 January 2023 - 03:31 PM

I cannot get this to install in OSX (11.6.2) - tried on 4 different machines, two with the M1 chip. I open the dmg file then right click, 'Open'. It gives me the warning - and I select Open. It verifies contents and then disappears. Subsequent attempts it just stops responding.

 

What am I doing wrong?

 

Kevin

 

UPDATE: never mind, figured it out


Edited by Cdnpilot, 06 January 2023 - 04:54 PM.


#31 schmelly

schmelly

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2021
  • Loc: Paderborn, Germany

Posted 08 January 2023 - 11:06 AM

Hi all,

 

for the MacOS users among us: please note that GraXpert is not signed by an Apple Developer Certificate. This means that MacOS won't execute GraXpert without explicit whitelisting by the user.

 

The following steps do this for me in a reproducible way:

  • (if installed previously) remove the old GraXpert installation from the applications folder (i.e., move it to the trash).
  • double click on the downloaded .dmg. MacOS 'mounts' the .dmg file and should open it in a new window in Finder.
  • copy 'GraXpert' from this window into the applications folder (e.g., via drag & drop)

From here it gets a little bit strange and I have to open GraXpert always two times until it starts:

  • Start GraXpert via double click from the programs folder. After a short time MacOS complains that it can't analyze the application.
  • Open GraXpert again, but this time via ctrl + right-click -> Open. A slightly different dialog should open, where you have to explicitly confirm the launch again. As I understand it, this step is equivalent to allow application startup via System Preferences/Security & Privacy/General (just a bit shorter). Unfortunately, this ctrl + right-click "workaround" won't work the first time you open it - for whatever reason.

Afterward you should be able to open GraXpert simply via double click. These steps have to be repeated for each new GraXpert release / download.

 

Please also note that GraXpert probably won't run on MacOS Mojave (10.14.) or older.

 

In the meantime we released GraXpert Dione RC-4 (v1.0.3). You can follow the release history and grab it from here:
https://github.com/S...aXpert/releases

 

CS
David


  • tommy2000 and Kevan Noble like this

#32 mikefulb

mikefulb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,906
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006

Posted 09 January 2023 - 07:49 PM

Played with your tool some tonight - very nice!  Great to have alternatives when it comes to tools.

 

I haven't dug in the code yet but I wondered - would it be difficult to save the sample locations so I could load them back in later.  Either to use on another frame in a dataset (L and RGB) so I don't need to recreate it.  Or so I can go back and reproduce the step I used to remove a gradient if I ever reprocess a dataset.


Edited by mikefulb, 09 January 2023 - 07:50 PM.


#33 schmelly

schmelly

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2021
  • Loc: Paderborn, Germany

Posted 10 January 2023 - 11:50 AM

Played with your tool some tonight - very nice!  Great to have alternatives when it comes to tools.

 

I haven't dug in the code yet but I wondered - would it be difficult to save the sample locations so I could load them back in later.  Either to use on another frame in a dataset (L and RGB) so I don't need to recreate it.  Or so I can go back and reproduce the step I used to remove a gradient if I ever reprocess a dataset.

Hi Mike,

 

glad you like it smile.gif

 

Right now we save and restore samples in two ways: (1) in the .fits header of your image. Hence, reopening the same file should restore the samples from there. (2) for images of the same size. I suggest you register and crop your individual channels before applying GraXpert. This should enable your use case.

 

CS

David
 



#34 arbit

arbit

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,401
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2012

Posted 10 January 2023 - 10:05 PM

Have used this both standalone and within Siril.

Huge thanks to developers - it is really good - now that it supports xisf it's easier and generally at least as good as DBE.

Wishlist
1. Siril does not have Kriging, would be nice to have.
2. The standalone takes ages to even load on Win. Also to compute background. In Siril though, it's very fast. What gives?



Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

#35 Warhen

Warhen

    Vendor (IP4AP)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1,264
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2005
  • Loc: WV, USA

Posted 15 January 2023 - 03:21 PM

Congrats, gents. I've found it to be superior to DBE in some cases! Thank you!



#36 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,215
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 15 January 2023 - 08:56 PM

Any chance this will get M1 enabled on the Mac? 


  • MLM likes this

#37 schmelly

schmelly

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2021
  • Loc: Paderborn, Germany

Posted 18 January 2023 - 06:38 AM

Any chance this will get M1 enabled on the Mac? 

Hi,

do you mean an optimized M1 build or do you struggle to get it working on M1 in the first place?


An optimized build is not in sight yet: We use virtual machines provided by Github to build our releases and Github does not provide MacOS vms with M1 processors (yet?).

Generally, GraXpert should run on an up-to-date M1-enabled MacOS via the compatibility layer. I just tested it on a MacBookPro of a colleague of mine. Make sure to copy GraXpert from the mounted .dmg file to your applications folder as described in my previous post here: https://www.cloudyni...2#entry12407826

Also, be careful to create a copy in your applications folder and not just a symlink to the .dmg

CS

David



#38 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,215
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 18 January 2023 - 08:47 AM

Hi,

do you mean an optimized M1 build or do you struggle to get it working on M1 in the first place?


An optimized build is not in sight yet: We use virtual machines provided by Github to build our releases and Github does not provide MacOS vms with M1 processors (yet?).

Generally, GraXpert should run on an up-to-date M1-enabled MacOS via the compatibility layer. I just tested it on a MacBookPro of a colleague of mine. Make sure to copy GraXpert from the mounted .dmg file to your applications folder as described in my previous post here: https://www.cloudyni...2#entry12407826

Also, be careful to create a copy in your applications folder and not just a symlink to the .dmg

CS

David

It does run on the M1, but the interface is pretty sluggish. And actually it's pretty quick at removing the gradient, so maybe the interface just needs graphic card support to run faster rather than specific M1 support.



#39 Wow!

Wow!

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 712
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2020

Posted 22 January 2023 - 02:16 PM

Such awesome software. I struggled to remove some awful gradients on a recent image with ABE/DBE.

This software did it in a few minutes. Thanks so much!

https://www.astrobin.com/g5tlry/



#40 MLM

MLM

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2020
  • Loc: Silver Spring MD USA

Posted 22 January 2023 - 03:16 PM

I've processed several data sets with very nice results

The user interface is intuitive and very well designed.

 

As other's have noted, the user interface is very slow on Apple Silicon (M1 Ultra). It's frustrating to use because so sluggish.

 

By contrast, I've used Kriging as the defualt interpolation method and the calculation takes only a few sec on 3056x3056 images.



#41 nwcs

nwcs

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Tennessee

Posted 25 January 2023 - 08:42 AM

I've processed several data sets with very nice results
The user interface is intuitive and very well designed.

As other's have noted, the user interface is very slow on Apple Silicon (M1 Ultra). It's frustrating to use because so sluggish.

By contrast, I've used Kriging as the defualt interpolation method and the calculation takes only a few sec on 3056x3056 images.

I suspect the problem is that it isn’t handling the retina screen resolution correctly. As much as I’m not a fan of QT this is one situation where it would probably make a big difference.

#42 Der_Pit

Der_Pit

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,893
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2018
  • Loc: La Palma

Posted 28 January 2023 - 12:16 PM

I suspect the problem is that it isn’t handling the retina screen resolution correctly. As much as I’m not a fan of QT this is one situation where it would probably make a big difference.

Maybe not "big".  I see many applications where the fonts are nicely adapted to the resolution, but the size of buttons/fields is not, and you end up with overlapping or truncated text crazy.gif



#43 MLM

MLM

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2020
  • Loc: Silver Spring MD USA

Posted 28 January 2023 - 01:15 PM

Maybe not "big".  I see many applications where the fonts are nicely adapted to the resolution, but the size of buttons/fields is not, and you end up with overlapping or truncated text crazy.gif

The problem is not font or button/field sizes, it's that the mouse control of the boxes used to sample background, and the response to clicking buttons, dragging sliders etc is painfully slow, making the program a pain to use, BUT, once you have set everything up the calculation is blazingly fast on an M1 mac.


  • Der_Pit likes this

#44 nwcs

nwcs

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Tennessee

Posted 28 January 2023 - 02:10 PM

The problem is not font or button/field sizes, it's that the mouse control of the boxes used to sample background, and the response to clicking buttons, dragging sliders etc is painfully slow, making the program a pain to use, BUT, once you have set everything up the calculation is blazingly fast on an M1 mac.

I spent a few minutes to look. They are using the hdpitkinter package for the interface. Many reports out there on how slowly it runs. Apparently it can be resolved by adding more yields to other threads.
  • MLM likes this

#45 MLM

MLM

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2020
  • Loc: Silver Spring MD USA

Posted 28 January 2023 - 02:14 PM

I spent a few minutes to look. They are using the hdpitkinter package for the interface. Many reports out there on how slowly it runs. Apparently it can be resolved by adding more yields to other threads.

Thanks! Hopefully the developer will see this post and address.



#46 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,215
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 01 February 2023 - 09:59 AM

Here is a result I see often with this software. Is there any way to avoid the edges of the image with a different color background? Or is something going on with the camera itself?

 

graxpert.jpg


Edited by Lead_Weight, 01 February 2023 - 09:59 AM.


#47 chuck666

chuck666

    Explorer 1

  • ****-
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2020
  • Loc: Surprise, Arizona

Posted 02 February 2023 - 12:31 PM

When I try to use this SW, version "Dione"; it loads fine. But the menu boxes are too small to read????? Seems like PS had that problem due to 4K monitors or something like that about "high dpi" monitors?

In any event I cannot read the menus to make it usable. Win 11, latest version. Sony 4K, tv/monitor. No other SW has this issue.

Hope, I didn't miss a post about this?

TIA

Chuck



#48 MLM

MLM

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2020
  • Loc: Silver Spring MD USA

Posted 02 February 2023 - 05:38 PM

When I try to use this SW, version "Dione"; it loads fine. But the menu boxes are too small to read????? Seems like PS had that problem due to 4K monitors or something like that about "high dpi" monitors?

In any event I cannot read the menus to make it usable. Win 11, latest version. Sony 4K, tv/monitor. No other SW has this issue.

Hope, I didn't miss a post about this?

TIA

Chuck

Chuck - it's a hardware/software specific problem.

 

On an Apple 5k Studio Display used on an M1 Mac the resolution is fine. but as has been previously noted the response time to moving boxes, clicking on buttons etc is glacially slow. 

 

This is a great piece of software, and I hope the developers can fix these problems.



#49 blakesphere

blakesphere

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 05 February 2023 - 05:04 PM

I asked on Discord this question...

 

I am using GraXpert on my Windows 11 computers, works fine. Just downloaded the app to my Ubuntu Linux. I have a file without an extension. The dox say to just run it, no installation required. Well, for me, it opens in TextEdit! What do I need to do to get the downloaded blob to run as an executable? 

 

I tried renaming to a .zip but that didn't work...



#50 blakesphere

blakesphere

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 05 February 2023 - 05:30 PM

I was edumacated over on Discord...

 

In general, I was told, you have to make the downloaded binary file executable.

 

chmod a+x GraXpert-linux

 

From the command line...

 

I have GraXpert running on my Linux laptop now as well.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics