•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Unable to align secondary mirror to focuser tube

• Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#1 patrickt

patrickt

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Manila, Philippines

Posted 15 May 2022 - 10:54 AM

Hello All !

I wasnt sure if this belonged to the Beginners forum ( this is my first time to collimate a newt), but decided on this forum, since it is an old 100mm Vixen Super Halley newt.  Earlier on, i took out the primary mirror for a much needed cleaning.

I put a webcam in the focuser. So initially, a portion of the secondary mirror was not even visible. I tried the three little alignment screws behind the mirror, but it didnt hardly do anything to move the mirror-cell unit.

So i decided to fiddle withe the three external screws (in the pics), that lengthen or shorten each spider vane. I loosened two of them, then shortened the other. This did help to move the secondary mirror and make a portion of the secondary holder visible as well, but still way off center ! It seems no amount of further fiddling with the external screws can move the secondary to the center of the focuser tub.

I'm not sure fiddling with the three external screws was the correct approach ? In fact you can see in the pics how loose two of the external screws are....  What do you guys think i'm doing wrong ?  Thank you,

Patrick

#2 patrickt

patrickt

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 15 May 2022 - 10:56 AM

Screenshot_20220515-234610_Messenger.jpg Screenshot_20220515-234620_Messenger.jpg Screenshot_20220515-234632_Messenger.jpg Screenshot_20220515-234643_Messenger.jpg Hello All !

#3 patrickt

patrickt

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 15 May 2022 - 11:11 AM

Screenshot_20220516-000642_Messenger.jpg Here's a pic of the secondary for good measure

#4 deSitter

deSitter

Still in Old School