•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help with observing planets.

Accessories Observing Planet Visual Filters
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Vilmos93

Vilmos93

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Hungary, Central EU

Posted 18 May 2022 - 11:13 AM

Hello! 

I am a beginner user of a 254/1200 Skywatcher newtonian telescope. I have been using this telescope for only a year. My first planetary season was last year and I started visual observing with Saturn.  It was soooo amazing.  The next target was Jupiter and this is where the trouble started. It was too bright to see the nice colours. My first and last idea was to use a moon filter. This is the filter I used:  https://tavcso.hu/te.../szurok_neutral. With this filter it was slightly better but it made it too dark and grey this way. 

Do you have any ideas about what filter to use on Jupiter for visual observation? 

Thank You!

Clear Skies!

Vilmos

• Dobs O Fun likes this

#2 rustynpp

rustynpp

Surveyor 1

• Loc: NYC

Posted 18 May 2022 - 11:27 AM

Hi Vilmos,

Try turning on the lights around your observing area, if possible. Reducing your pupil size will help turn down the glare from brights planets and the moon.

Cheers,

Nick

• Dave Mitsky, Astrojensen, SeaBee1 and 8 others like this

#3 Notdarkenough

Notdarkenough

Apollo

• Loc: 5000' ft @ 41° N Utah

Posted 18 May 2022 - 11:28 AM

I sometimes use my Baader Neodymium Moon & Skyglow filter for Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Mostly, it does help with contrast, sometimes no filter is best.