•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

'Focal' 60mm Japanese made refractor

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 eyeye

eyeye

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 October 2006 - 10:18 PM

Just wondering if anyone has infomation on the Japanese brand called 'Focal' It appears to be another generic design produced in Japan (like Yosco, and many others etc). This one is listed on Aussie e-bay, and I'm thinking of picking it up.
thanks.

Attached Thumbnails

• 1224610-b4_1.JPG

#2 trainsktg

trainsktg

Aurora

Posted 30 October 2006 - 12:35 AM

I have no personal experience with this particular brand (there's a reason for this---keep reading), but judging that it is an equatorial and it appears to be from the early 70's, its probably decent to excellent optically and good mechanically. Most of these rebrands have air-spaced rather than cemented lenses. They are usually slightly undercorrected, though. This one appears to be in unusually good condition. I have a Sears scope with the same kind of telescoping metal legs as this one has and it is much stabler than an identical Sears I have with wood legs. In fact, the entire scope except tube color appears identical to my two Sears' down to the printing colors and font on the cardboard box and instruction booklet.

OTOH, a very good lens-designer friend of mine always refered to the brandname as 'Fecal'... for this reason only have I avoided them.

Keith

#3 Selecter

Selecter

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 30 October 2006 - 12:45 AM

I thought Focal was Kmart's store brand for binos and cameras and scopes.

#4 trainsktg

trainsktg

Aurora

Posted 30 October 2006 - 12:50 AM