•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

GEM45 disconnecting from ASIAir Pro

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 stlsoccerfan

stlsoccerfan

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: St. Louis, MO

Posted 30 June 2022 - 08:28 AM

I've been using my GEM45 with an ASIAir Pro for the past 15 months, and it was working great. I run it using a USB cable from the mount to the cameras hub and a separate power supply. However, over the past few months I've been experiencing the frustration having the mount randomly loosing the connection to the AAP. It will be imaging fine and then lose the mount, causing the session to record nothing but star trails due to no tracking. This can happen after polar aligning or at 3am, its completely random. Not correlated with filter changes or autofocus changes. To get it reconnected requires usually requires turning the AAP off and then on. I've restored the AAP software, tried multiple USB cables and even wrapped the male end of a cable with electrical tape so it would be held firmer at the connection- nothing has worked. Any suggestions ? This is beginning to drive me crazy.

#2 FrostByte

FrostByte

Mercury-Atlas

• Moderators
  • Loc: Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Posted 30 June 2022 - 09:14 AM

I just (hopefully) resolved an issue where I would lose connection to my CEM40 from my Raspberry pi, so similar hardware. In my case, the mount would keep tracking until it hit the meridian limit as set by the hand controller, so I'm not sure why a GEM45 would act differently if it lost connection to the AAP. I traced it down to a bad USB dew heater that was taking down the whole USB network. Lesson learned - don't add anything to the USB network that isn't necessary, and my dew heaters are on a separate connection.