•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

TEC 140FL image train setup and supporting hardware

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Darth

Darth

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sunnyvale, CA

Posted 02 July 2022 - 11:51 PM

Hi folks, newbie here trying to theorize (and learn) a possible imaging setup, before I make purchases. Wondering if my calculations / options below seem sane to the experienced folks? Haven't yet completely decided on a main camera, but might just start off with one of the Sony IMX571 ones. I have never done back focus calculations before, and based on a few other threads I came up with the following.

This will be for a TEC 140FL on a AP Mach 2 mount.

• Controlling Hub
  • Focus motor
  • Guide Camera
    • QHY5III462C
    • Consumes 1 USB3 port of UPBv2, attached to Optec Sagitta OAG
  • Image train
    • TEC 3.5" Focuser
    • AP S35RFAA Adapter
    • AP QuadTCC
      • Back-focus remaining 99.1mm
    • AP EXT327-18.3
      • Back-focus remaining 99.1 - 18.3 = 80.8
    • Optec Sagitta OAG
      • Back-focus remaining 80.8 - 31.7 = 49.1
      • Controlled by UPBv2 focus motor output via RJ45 and not by FocusLynx controller
    • QHY CFW3L
      • Back-focus remaining 49.1 - 21.5 = 27.6
      • RJ11 to the QHY camera
    • LRGBHaO3S2 Filters
      • Back-focus remaining 27.6 + 01.0 = 28.6 (adding 1/3 assuming 3mm thickness?)
      • 2" Filters threaded mount (or should I be looking at 50mm unmounted?)
    • QHY268PH
      • Back-focus remaining 28.6 - 12.5 = 16.1
      • Consumes 1 USB3 port and 1 DC port of UPBv2)