•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Can you ID a Galaxy out past NGC 7015.

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OregonSky

OregonSky

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Oregon

Posted 10 August 2022 - 01:54 AM

Just before shutting down and packing it in the other night,  I was in the Neighborhood of NCG 7015 and thought I would take a look.   I'm new at Eaa and still gaining perspective of whats possible to view.     While not a great image , ( It is 203 Million Light Years out ) ,  I was pleased just to see it with my 6se.    I also see another galaxy visible out at about 1 o'clock.    I've tried to figure out its ID, Magnitude and distance but cant find anything about it with the tools and references I have. 
Can anyone help ID that galaxy  ?   

Its as big as I can make it and keep under 500k

NGC 7015 +1  6se  52 X 8sec - 416sec  -  303 gain - Cropped

NGC 7015+1_416s_203MLY Crop .Jpg

Thank You 

#2 EGregerson

EGregerson

Explorer 1

• Loc: Newport News, VA

Posted 10 August 2022 - 02:27 AM

Hi; U can submit a .jpg to Astrometry.net 

*  This project is partially supported by the US National Science Foundation, the US National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the Canadian National Science and Engineering Research Council.

#3 David Knisely

David Knisely

James Webb Space Telescope

• Loc: southeastern Nebraska

Posted 10 August 2022 - 02:43 AM

The galaxy 5.1' arc to the west of NGC 7015 is MAC 2105+1124.  Megastar lists it at 0.6' x 0.1' arc with magnitude 16.0 and no other data on the object.  Clear skies to you.

Edited by David Knisely, 10 August 2022 - 02:45 AM.

#4 MartinMeredith

MartinMeredith

Viking 1

Posted 10 August 2022 - 03:06 AM

Also known as PGC 1393258 in the LEDA galaxy database (listed at mag 16.5 there, most likely photographic rather than visual)