•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Practical angle of view for dobsonian

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 CFM

CFM

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sidney, BC

Posted 10 August 2022 - 11:22 AM

I am a beginner observer and I am in the process of learning about the pros and cons about high magnification eyepieces, particularly when used with a dobsonian telescope.

I own a Celestron starhopper 8 inch telescope and I have used it with its 25mm eyepiece it came with and a 2x Barlow. Although I have been able to see Saturn and the details of the moon, I noticed that constant adjustment of the scope is necessary or I need to place the scope so the object moves into the eyepiece frame.

I am not sure if this applies to all dobsonians telescopes, but with mine adjusting the telescope between the mount stops takes some time. I use a wedge to make this work. I assume this task will become more tedious as I move to a 9/7/5mm eyepiece since the angle of view will be smaller at higher magnifications.

If you can share your experience with the same type or similar telescopes with high magnification eyepieces and any tricks to work around this, I will really appreciate it.

Is this a limiting factor on what eyepiece you have chosen for your dobsonian telescope? If it was, what was the max magnification you use on your dob telescope?

Edited by CFM, 10 August 2022 - 11:24 AM.

• vtornado likes this

#2 SoCalPaul

SoCalPaul

Ranger 4

• Loc: SoCal

Posted 10 August 2022 - 11:31 AM

I am not sure if this applies to all dobsonians telescopes, but with mine adjusting the telescope between the mount stops takes some time. I use a wedge to make this work. I assume this task will become more tedious as I move to a 9/7/5mm eyepiece since the angle of view will be smaller at higher magnifications.