•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Nicked Primary — Disaster — Edge 9.25

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 The Cat

The Cat

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 August 2022 - 02:50 PM

All —

Disaster.  I bought a new set of Bob’s Knobs to replace a defective set that had allowed for terrible Collimation. In an effort to check whether the secondary mirror was level, I unscrewed the Faststar plate on the outside of the corrector plate.  Thus far, great.  I studied the mirror from the side and it was bulging out way too much on one side.  It took me a while, messing with the knobs, to get the mirror level.  But I got it level.

when I tried to screw the outer Fastar component to the inside component (female component, I guess) the inside component detached from the corrector plate. In an effort to see what had happened  I rotated the telescope on the mount.  I lost control and the interior part of the faststar unit rolled down the tube and hit the mirror. 

i think it nicked the primary  mirror.  Could you please look at the middle photo below and let me know what I should do next.  Ask Celestron to install a new primary? But a new Edge?

In order to fix the Fastar components, I had to remove the corrector plate to screw the Fastar components together.  I think I did that job correctly. But there are blemishes on the corrector plate now. 

I’m using the term Fastar because that is what is written on the unit.  I’m talking about the housing for the secondary mirror, half of which is on the outside of the corrector plate, facing the sky. The other part of the housing is on the inside of the corrector plate.

Sigh — all just an effort to collimate.  I really had to remove the secondary though.  The mirror was so out of whack that I would not have been able to see an airy disc. 

thanks!

felix