•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Binocular Telescope - Which One to Choose?

Binoculars Equipment Mount Orion
  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 Ron Knee

Ron Knee

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 August 2022 - 08:56 PM

Hello Everyone - I’m a newbie to this group, and pretty inexperienced with binos and telescopes too. So thought it best to ask for some advice, please, as you seem a friendly lot.

Need advice on a binocular telescope and mount. Over the years in England I’ve had one cheap telescope for basic skywatching, and some general-purpose bins for spotting, but haven’t used either for a few years due to  light pollution where I lived. But have now retired and moved to a house on a hill by the coast in rural New Zealand. The view to the coast is 3km of bush and farmland with assorted birds and wildlife, then the sea with yachts and the occasional whale and dolphin for another few km. The living room has a large window facing that view, and a deck at the same level to see the night sky. So my ‘retirement present’ is to buy something to take advantage of both day and night views.

I like the idea of a BT, such as the Orion Giantview BT - 100 with 45 degree eyepiece orientation, on a mount like their Orion U mount on their Paragon Plus XHD tripod. Which I’ve seen on YouTube, but not in the flesh. There aren’t any in stock in New Zealand, but I can order one. Which is why any advice first would be appreciated, especially any alternatives, such as the one from APM. Thanks in advance!.

#2 ihf

ihf

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: California, USA

Posted 16 August 2022 - 09:03 PM

Answering a few extra questions may help others to give you better answers.

Do you need to wear glasses?

Does your face have any restrictions like a very narrow interpupillary distance or deep set eyes?