•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Laser Pointers/Finders - Safety

Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 GJWS

GJWS

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Rhode Island, USA

Posted 28 September 2022 - 08:06 PM

I found the forum has rules regarding discussion of lasers and power and a requirement to keep to low power in discussions and reviews - quoting FDA safety guidelines.  Yay!

--

I did search, didn't find and I am a newbie - if this has been covered elsewhere - apologies.  I'd like to share a different viewpoint than the FDA's.  Because I'm also a pilot.  And I'm not a newbie at that!

--

Laser strikes on aircraft at night are on the up.  Let's be charitable and suggest some of this is because the astronomy hobby is on the up and up.  More people are looking skywards.  Some of it is also jerks trying to pick off aircraft "for fun".  But none of those jerks are on here!!  wink.gif

--

Green laser pointers - and to a lesser extent red.  If you inadvertently hit an aircraft cockpit - the cockpit is immediately filled with intense and painful bright light.  From the tiniest of lasers.  Night vision goes out the window.  Eye damage sometimes occurs.  We all know how long it takes for your eyes to dark adapt.  5min for some adaption but 20 mins plus for full adaption.  If you have blown the night vision of the flight crew - it is going to be sometime before night vision is reacquired.  It is a safety of flight issue - as well as the fact you may have actually damaged someone's eyesight.

Let me say again - Laser strikes on planes at night are TRULY debilitating for pilots and a SERIOUS safety of flight issue.