•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Questions on mounting my 8-inch Celestron tube on a more modern mount

Astrophotography Celestron Equipment Mount
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 stevejbo

stevejbo

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 October 2022 - 07:21 PM

Sorry for the large set of questions - but I am trying to upgrade and the issues are all inter-related. 

I have been doing astrophotography for about 3 years now with a really old telescope.

I have an old Celestron Celestar 8 that I have over the last few years been using for astrophotography, though keeping it aligned has been a challenge (I can only do 10-15 second exposures and every half hour I need to recenter the view) . I have been using a Canon R5 attached to the Celestron (or to just a zoom lens attached to the R5 for large objects like Andromeda). I have decided to upgrade, though for financial reasons I can’t upgrade everything at once so my plan is to buy a better mount—I am planning on a EQ6-R Pro--and a tracking scope and a mini-PC to run the tracking scope. I have a Mac laptop so I can WiFi into the mini-pc to use the tracking scope. In future years think about a dedicated astro camera and possibly a wider angle telescope but for the next few years I hope to stick with the Canon R5 and the Celestron attached to the EQ6-R. I am hoping to get some questions answered so I don’t make a costly mistake:

1) Will I be able to attach the Celestron to the EQ6-R? I see on the forum that some have attached larger telescopes to this mount - - is there anything I should be aware of?