•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Order of operations for alignment, polar align, guide, etc?

Astrophotography Beginner Celestron EQ Imaging Polar Alignment Software Mount Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Nathan_2448

Nathan_2448

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Upstate New York

Posted 03 October 2022 - 10:57 PM

Hello, this is my first ever post. I’m new to astrophotography and need a bit of help from the more experienced astronomers. I am using a celestron 9.25 SCT with an evolution goto/nexstar mount on a wedge to make it an EQ Mount, an f/6.3 reducer, Asi662 mc camera, 50mm guide scope and camera. I know what steps need to be taken but I’m not sure which order would be best. Should I do it in this order?

1) polar align (using either cpwi or sharp cap)

2) 2 star align (using cpwi)

3) add a few reference/calibration stars (cpwi)

4) plate solve (sharp cap)

5) auto guide (with PHD2) 

Any/all feedback/information/advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot and clear skies everyone! 

Edited by Nathan_2448, 04 October 2022 - 06:00 AM.

#2 D_talley

D_talley

Aurora

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 03 October 2022 - 11:25 PM

IF you are setting up every night then the first thing is to Polar Align.

you can do a one or two star alignment next.

I would just plate solve since that would tell the scope and your astronomy software where the scope is pointing.

Go and auto guide on your target.

• Nathan_2448 likes this

#3 joshman

joshman

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Coffs Harbour, NSW

Posted 03 October 2022 - 11:56 PM

1. (SharpCap) Get rough focus - close enough for plate solving to work
  2. (SharpCap) Polar Align
  3. (PHD2) Slew close to Celestial Equator and Calibrate guiding (if required)
  4. (Imaging Software / SharpCap) Slew to target