•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8" F7.88 Dobsonian

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Tony818

Tony818

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 October 2022 - 04:12 PM

Hey everyone, I'm new to telescopes so I don't know too much. Might be stupid to build a telescope for the first one but I really want to and I'll learn better that way.
I posted for help about Aperture and Focal Length and settled on an 8 inch 1600mm so F7.88. Secondary mirror 30-38mm to keep obstruction under 20% but big enough to suit the whole DIY janky setup. Hoping this will be good for planets, moons and bit of other things.

I need help on the other parts . I'm having trouble using Newt for the Web as it's asking me things I don't know yet. Specifically the Focuser to Front of Tube. I don't know what the secondary mirrors distance is from the primary so I wouldn't know the focuser from the front of the tube.
That brings me to the focuser section. I don't know much about focusers, things like their diameter. I've marked the parts I don't know in red with letters. If you guys can help me out on this, that would be awesome!
If this stuff needs to be done after buying all the parts, what focuser would you guys recommend? 

Attached Thumbnails

• Question.png

#2 hamishbarker

hamishbarker

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 05 October 2022 - 09:18 PM

Do you already have the mirror or are you planning to make it?

If you can get hold of make your own telescope by Richard berry, it's a great basic ATM book.

That f ratio is going to be a fairly long tube, and not very suitable for imaging, although not impossible. Some people are using eq platforms for planetary imaging with dobsonians. (in case imaging is in your planned activities.). Also quite a slow f ratio, again, only be a concern if imagingj Advantage is very little coma.

#3 Scott E