Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Where to get a cable for CG5-ASGT Hand Control?

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 emflocater

emflocater

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,982
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Clarkson, N.Y.

Posted 24 January 2023 - 06:31 PM

Hi Folks. Does anyone know where to get a replacement cable (prefer coiled) for the CG5-ASGT Hand Control, since the plastic tab broke off? Let me be clear so were on the same page. The coiled cable is the one coming out from the BOTTOM of the Hand Control and would then go to a PC.

 

Now from what I have read the cable port is a RS232. I believe the cable is a 4P4C - RJ22. I posted a drawing of the pins and it seems to be a reverse rather than a straight, but maybe someone who knows and or has the same mount and Hand Control can chime in.

 

Now here is the other issue besides the broken tab...the plastic connector end that inserts into the bottom of the Hand Control is small! The same size that would go into a telephone hand set. HOWEVER the other end of the cable has a larger plastic connector (which goes into my extension Adapter) is similar in size that goes into the base of the telephone!

 

So the cable has 2 different Plastic Connectors on the same cable.

 

So what to do...lil help please.

 

Cheers

Don 

 

 Cable.jpg


Edited by emflocater, 24 January 2023 - 06:37 PM.


#2 mlord

mlord

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,855
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 24 January 2023 - 08:39 PM

Why not just crimp a fresh connector onto the end, if all that's wrong is the plastic tab ??


  • emflocater likes this

#3 emflocater

emflocater

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,982
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Clarkson, N.Y.

Posted 24 January 2023 - 09:01 PM

Why not just crimp a fresh connector onto the end, if all that's wrong is the plastic tab ??

I had thought about that, the thing is I have never done it before and what would I need to do it? What size is the broken tab connector? - RJ9? Is it hard to do? Where to get a crimping kit?

 

Probably cheaper to just get a new cable.

 

Cheers

Don


Edited by emflocater, 24 January 2023 - 09:21 PM.


#4 mlord

mlord

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,855
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 24 January 2023 - 09:27 PM

Probably cheaper to just get a new cable.

There is a 50% chance of permanently breaking the LCD display cable if you open up that hand-controller -- been there, done that, regretted it.   EDIT: detachable cable, right.  So not as big a concern.

 

$22 or less, shipping included:

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B01MS52QA5/

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B01D2Y5DFW/

 

That took me just a few seconds to google.  There may be even cheaper options.


Edited by mlord, 24 January 2023 - 09:32 PM.

  • emflocater likes this

#5 emflocater

emflocater

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,982
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Clarkson, N.Y.

Posted 24 January 2023 - 10:42 PM

Thank you mlord. Appreciate your help. Seems that's my best option!

Cheers

Don


Edited by emflocater, 24 January 2023 - 10:42 PM.

  • mlord likes this

#6 mlord

mlord

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,855
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 25 January 2023 - 08:21 AM

And once you have the crimper, you may as well order some 6P6C connectors as well, and tidy up the cabling around your mount!  :)  Custom lengths to reduce the clutter and so on. 


  • emflocater likes this

#7 emflocater

emflocater

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,982
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Clarkson, N.Y.

Posted 25 January 2023 - 10:16 AM

Hi mlord. Does the diagram I posted show a crossover cable?

 

Cheers

Don



#8 mlord

mlord

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,855
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 25 January 2023 - 05:21 PM

Hi mlord. Does the diagram I posted show a crossover cable?

 

I don't know what a "crossover cable" would be in this scenario.  But it doesn't matter.  Just duplicate what you have when crimping on the new end.
 


  • emflocater likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics