•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

16 mm UWA vs 18 mm UFF?

• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 quercuslobata

quercuslobata

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Indiana, USA

Posted 24 January 2023 - 09:07 PM

Has anyone compared these two at f5-6? The UFF would have more eye relief, and the field stop on the UWA is wider, but how do the views compare?

Reading posts it sounds like 16-18mm in the ~$100 or under category (including dual ED, HD-60, Xcel-lx) is a weak link in just about every line. If you had to pick one 16-18mm eyepiece with at least 60 degrees and a hard budget cutoff of $120 what would it be and why? Assume they all have sufficient eye relief for me.

• Astroyesmer likes this

#2 KWB

KWB

James Webb Space Telescope

• Loc: Westminster,Co Elev.5400 feet

Posted 24 January 2023 - 09:44 PM

I have no experience with the 16mm UWA because it doesn't have enough eye relief for my usage, so I couldn't say how these eyepieces compare. I do have the 18mm UFF and will say that it is a well corrected eyepiece, it sharpness and brightness on axis pleases me and it is very eye glass friendly. I like this eyepiece a lot. It works for me. No doubt there are better performing eyepieces in this focal length range but for the $95 I paid for it, I'm not replacing it. It is good enough.

AgVfTze.jpg

• Jon Isaacs, ihf, quercuslobata and 1 other like this

#3 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Hubble

Posted 24 January 2023 - 10:35 PM

My impression is the 18UFF is probably the cheapest pretty well corrected eyepiece around its focal length. It typically sells for more than $100, so more than the others, although you might find it under $100 on the “grey market” ordering direct from China to avoid the middle man.

Scott
  • KWB, ihf and quercuslobata like this

#4 Ernest_SPB

Ernest_SPB

Surveyor 1

• Loc: St.-Petersburg, Russia