Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ES iEXOS-100 loses guiding with ASIAIR Pro

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 19 September 2023 - 10:53 AM

Forgive me for asking this, as I am sure this topic has been hashed and re-hashed, but here goes. 

 

My (used, but new to me) ES iEXO 100 loses it ability to guide about 2 minutes into an Imaging session. It does all the functions necessary to set up, but then falls off with guiding. Is there something I am missing? I have a USB-A to USB-B connecting the two units, and according to the last owner, it’s has the latest firmware update, although I have not confirm this myself. I have checked all the cables and connections and have not found any issue.

 

Is there anyone else using this combination that is having this same issue? Is it caused by the ASIAIR? Mount? 

 

Symptoms: all processes, PA, Focus, slewing all work great, but when guiding is started, it works briefly, then RA stops and is followed rather quickly by DEC. 

 

Jim



#2 brlasy1

brlasy1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 901
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 19 September 2023 - 12:32 PM

Forgive me for asking this, as I am sure this topic has been hashed and re-hashed, but here goes. 

 

My (used, but new to me) ES iEXO 100 loses it ability to guide about 2 minutes into an Imaging session. It does all the functions necessary to set up, but then falls off with guiding. Is there something I am missing? I have a USB-A to USB-B connecting the two units, and according to the last owner, it’s has the latest firmware update, although I have not confirm this myself. I have checked all the cables and connections and have not found any issue.

 

Is there anyone else using this combination that is having this same issue? Is it caused by the ASIAIR? Mount? 

 

Symptoms: all processes, PA, Focus, slewing all work great, but when guiding is started, it works briefly, then RA stops and is followed rather quickly by DEC. 

 

Jim

Can we assume you've balanced the optical tube in RA and DEC before starting?  Are the clutches snugged up?  No cables hung up or dragging?



#3 Devonshire

Devonshire

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 682
  • Joined: 10 Mar 2017
  • Loc: S/W Ontario, Canada

Posted 19 September 2023 - 12:32 PM

Jim,

 

One thing to eliminate is your Windows machine: 
Find your way to Device manager>Universal serial Bus Controllers>[some device]>Properties>Power Management tab, and make sure that "Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power" is NOT checked.

 

The other power-related issue is unpowered/under-powered USB hubs that cause devices to drop off.  This may seem spontaneous, but it's more a case of power draws that may look fine initially, but if peak draws happen to coincide, poof!

 

Your firmware level is easy to check with the UFCT, and you should do that so you're sure.  If you don't have a copy, there will be one in the zipped firmware and driver kit on the ES web site.


  • Celerondon and wachuko like this

#4 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 19 September 2023 - 01:53 PM

Can we assume you've balanced the optical tube in RA and DEC before starting?  Are the clutches snugged up?  No cables hung up or dragging?

Thanks. Yes the RA and DEC balance is done. Clutches are tight but not over-tightened and cable management is taken care of.  
 

JK


  • brlasy1 likes this

#5 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 19 September 2023 - 02:15 PM

Jim,

 

One thing to eliminate is your Windows machine: 
Find your way to Device manager>Universal serial Bus Controllers>[some device]>Properties>Power Management tab, and make sure that "Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power" is NOT checked.

 

The other power-related issue is unpowered/under-powered USB hubs that cause devices to drop off.  This may seem spontaneous, but it's more a case of power draws that may look fine initially, but if peak draws happen to coincide, poof!

 

Your firmware level is easy to check with the UFCT, and you should do that so you're sure.  If you don't have a copy, there will be one in the zipped firmware and driver kit on the ES web site.

So, first thank you for bringing that to my attention. I've never considered how a windows device could affect it. I failed to mention that I am connecting using an iPad Pro over the hotspot wifi. 

also, I should state that I also use this asiair pro on my ES EXOS2-GT mount with no issues and using the same connections. I have purchased another asiair (mini) and am going to dedicate it to this rig. I used the Pro last night because it was mounted to my telescope and I didn't want to change everything over in the dark for a test run. (it was easier to just move the scope and attachments... call me lazy I guess)

The mount and all the equipment are powered by a Jackery, the same one that runs this equipment on the EXOS 2-GT, so I am assuming that it should have plenty of power to run a smaller mount. 

 

It has been so long since I have done anything with the firmware on my mount, that I have to admit I will have to research again how to check it using UFCT. 

 

I tried to download the current software last night to my laptop, and ran into another issue. I could not get it to download to windows 10. Quick internet search let me know that there were problems with that, so I guess I have more reading to do on that topic as well. Unless someone knows why there is a reason for the firmware to not download to either of my compters? I guess I'm hoping someone knows. I've been pouring over the PMC-8 forums and although it's mentioned there, I haven't found a suitable answer as of yet. 

 

Thanks for your responses and I'm sorry if this got a little long winded. 

 

JK


  • brlasy1 likes this

#6 Devonshire

Devonshire

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 682
  • Joined: 10 Mar 2017
  • Loc: S/W Ontario, Canada

Posted 19 September 2023 - 02:50 PM

I tried to download the current software last night to my laptop, and ran into another issue. I could not get it to download to windows 10. Quick internet search let me know that there were problems with that, so I guess I have more reading to do on that topic as well. Unless someone knows why there is a reason for the firmware to not download to either of my compters? I guess I'm hoping someone knows. I've been pouring over the PMC-8 forums and although it's mentioned there, I haven't found a suitable answer as of yet. 

This isn't the first time I've heard of that.  I just downloaded the .zip with no trouble and scanned it with Norton 360.  It came back clean. 

My guess is that it may just be your antivirus being over-cautious.   



#7 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 19 September 2023 - 03:23 PM

I tried 2 different computers last night and both of them would not let it download. 

 

JK



#8 mjanzou

mjanzou

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 949
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2017
  • Loc: So. Oregon

Posted 19 September 2023 - 03:50 PM

What browser?
Is it a zip file?

Edited by mjanzou, 19 September 2023 - 03:50 PM.


#9 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 20 September 2023 - 09:34 AM

What browser?
Is it a zip file?

Google chrome. Yes a zip file. 
Do I was able to get it downloaded last night. It was my antivirus program that was blocking the download… thanks for your help..

 

JK


  • mjanzou likes this

#10 nite-sky

nite-sky

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2021
  • Loc: Oregon, USA

Posted 21 September 2023 - 10:46 PM

SOLVED:

 

I found the problem. The firmware needed to be updated and I also added a new serial cable. Runs like a champ now. 

 

Thank you for all your suggestions, answers and tips.

 

JK


  • Devonshire, brlasy1 and wachuko like this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics