•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

tracking vs non-tracking

Equipment Observing Reflector
  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 SpitzA3P

SpitzA3P

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Posted 26 September 2023 - 01:56 PM

Do you have any thoughts about telescopes that can track vs those that can not, and whether Go to or Push to have significant differences in their usage?

My initial thoughts are: 1. Tracking requires a heavier scope (perhaps limiting the ability to travel with it by airplanes).  But tracking is always nice to have, and more and more essential with higher powers .  In a sense, the Dobsonian revolution has answered the question in favor of non tracking, at least for scopes of 10 inches diameter and above.

Regarding Push to - I have no experience using it.  However, it also reduces weight.

My primary interest here is taking a 10-12 inch ultralight on airplanes so that I can travel to really dark skies.

#2 ButterFly

ButterFly

Fly Me to the Moon

• Freeware Developers

Posted 26 September 2023 - 02:41 PM

Platforms are push to systems.  The tracking comes through a separate device under the dob.  It almost always as big as the groundboard.  It can be built into the groundboard, but is almost always a separate add on.  There is one motor doing all the driving.  The added weight is the weight of the motor and the material to build the platform.  It can be a lot material weight.  No controller is needed, other than something to adjust the motor's rate.  You have the option of NOT taking a separable platform along with you as needed.  You also have the option of taking it along for many different scopes, so long as it can handle the load.