•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for advice on my proposed deep sky Kit list

Astrophotography Beginner Refractor Mount Optics
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 fyferoni

fyferoni

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: Montana

Posted 01 December 2023 - 01:23 PM

Hey everyone! I'm new-ish to visual astronomy (been using an 8"in. Dob for about half a year now) and as a photographer by trade, I've been really interested in jumping into astrophotography. I'm starting out already owning a Canon EOS 6D, and I'll be using that to build the kit around.

I live in a bortle 6 suburb with access to occassional trips to dark sky spots (when kids and job allow it) so the setup will mainly be used in my front yard (hence the filter addition to hopefully help in capturing at home).

After countless hours scouring this great community, here's my thoughts so far as a starting rig (with a budget around $2000).

Proposed Kit:

• Mount and Tripod: Sky Watcher Heq-5pro
  • Scope: Astro-Tech AT72EDii
  • Field Flattener: Astro Tech .8x Field Reducer/Flattener
  • Camera: Canon EOS 6D (no mod) - Already owned
  • Finder/Guide Scope: Astro tech 8x50 Finder Scope (eventually would like to guide, but a bit out of budget)
  • Filter: Optolong L-Pro 2.in Broadband Filter
  • Dew warmer/cables/etc (i'm also planning on controlling the rig via laptop)

Thoughts? Suggestions? Insults? Let me know!

#2 FrostByte

FrostByte

Gemini

• Moderators
  • Loc: Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Posted 01 December 2023 - 01:41 PM