•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginning Astrophotography Tips

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 emmalobert

emmalobert

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Michigan

Posted 08 December 2023 - 08:52 PM

Hi! I recently got a ZWO ASI533MC Pro camera for my Celestron CPC 1100 telescope. What are some of the easiest objects to start astrophotography with my setup? Thanks!

#2 72Nova

72Nova

Supernova

• -----
  • Loc: Coachella Valley, CA

Posted 08 December 2023 - 09:19 PM

I’m a novice imager but I think your setup lends itself to planetary imaging.  I can’t imagine learning deep sky imaging with 2800 focal length.

#3 TelescopeGreg

TelescopeGreg

Fly Me to the Moon

• -----
  • Loc: Auburn, California, USA

Posted 08 December 2023 - 09:52 PM

As-is, "easiest" is none too easy.  The scope is really intended for visual astronomy, or imaging the fine details of the Moon and planets.  This sub-forum is aimed at Deep Sky Imaging, which are targets that can be really large (many are larger than the full Moon), and breathtakingly dim. 

Take a look at one of the virtual telescopes on the Web to get an idea of what the field of view is going to be.  Your field of view is 0.23 degrees square; the Moon is twice that size.  A favorite bright DSO target this time of year is M42, which is 4x as wide and 4x as high.  Most DSO imaging is done with focal lengths between about 500mm and 750mm, more or less.  You're at 2,800.  https://www.blackwat...maging-toolbox/