•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astrophotography with a Sky-Watcher Flextube 400P

Astrophotography Dob
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 rsliva

rsliva

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Nancy Kentucky

Posted 09 December 2023 - 12:09 PM

I've been doing astrophotography for about 15 months using either an ES ED127 or a Celestron C11 on an EQ6-R Pro mount. Everything is run from a Beelink mini PC including N.I.N.A. to manage the session, PHD2 to guide, and ASTAP to solve. I've had good success and post my photos on Mastodon https://astrodon.social/@rsliva. After watching the video "Deep Sky Astrophotography with a Goto Dobsonian" (https://www.youtube....h?v=ypheEr4Vv-8) I was inspired to try astrophotography with a large 16" scope. So last month I acquired an SW Flextube 400P as a new astrophotography challenge and I wanted to share a little about my experience so far. None of this is new information.

My camera is an ASI2400MC-P and is fairly heavy. I also have attached a ZWO Duo-Band filter. I removed the focuser knob assembly, turned it around, and attached a ZWO EAF auto focuser. And I use a light shroud. With the tube now well out of balance (!) I have twist-tied a 2.5lb weight on to the mirror cell in back. It could use another pound, and magnetic weights would probably be better, but funds.... I am still using the Beelink mini PC, and it sits on the base next to the AZ motor. The motor controller on the side of the mount has a port for the Synscan handheld, but instead I use a Sky-Watcher serial-USB adapter that plugs into that port and the Beelink. And of course the camera and EAF also plug into the mini PC.