•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Questions regarding SIDEWALK ASTRONOMY

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Lightbucket12

Lightbucket12

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bullhead City, AZ

Posted 27 January 2024 - 12:43 PM

Hello one and all,

I am new to this sub-forum in CN and it appears that there’s an extensive knowledge base related to sidewalk astronomy based on the number of postings related to this subject thus the reason for this post.

The High Desert Astronomy Club of Kingman Arizona will be hosting sidewalk astronomy events in Old Town, a revitalized and reconfigured area with broad sidewalks conducive to summer-time evening events, given that there are numerous micro-breweries, restaurants and shops.  Spring through Fall on the first Friday of the month the main street is closed to vehicle traffic and the area becomes a place to mingle with friends, eat and enjoy the evening in a festive atmosphere.  It appears that this would be a good place for our outreach program to do some sidewalk astronomy.

All of the above said, the Club has have never done any sidewalk astronomy and planning the event is a new process for us and brings up some questions as it somewhat differs from a Star Party held in closer controlled areas of a community park.

Assuming we will be viewing the Moon and planetary objects in the main:

Is there any preference for using small aperture telescopes given location constraints like the sidewalk?

Any preferences for using simple push/pull dobs as opposed to go-to mounts.

With respect to handing out informational literature, how much / how little or none at all given we don’t want to see the sidewalks littered and wear out our welcome.