•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astronomy near Houston area of Texas conditions..bugs etc

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 astronomer10

astronomer10

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: KEIZER, OREGON

Posted 09 February 2024 - 10:29 PM

FEB-10-2024

Hi,

I am a veteran of the hobby, considering moving closer to my kids in the area outside of Houston , maybe west of Houston or North to

Conroe...

I have been used to dry conditions of the Southwest USA for years...so my 2 BIG questions are :

a)   Any of you guys live in that part of Texas?  How is the situation with mosquitoes at night??

b)   Is there a sufficient  number of nights with clear skies?

Thanks,

Ed

Edited by astronomer10, 09 February 2024 - 10:30 PM.

• JSTAR0057 likes this

#2 MDL1

MDL1

Explorer 1

• Loc: Texas Hill Country

Posted 09 February 2024 - 10:54 PM

I live 3.5 hours west in the Hill Country (I’m one hour north of San Antonio) —-no mosquitos and a plenty of Bortle 3-4 locations with significantly less humidity and plenty of good observing nights.  The further east you go from here toward Houston you get increases in light pollution, humidity, mosquitos and fewer observing nights.   The three hour drive from this area to Houston is pretty easy—mostly interstate.   Recommend you look in a triangle of Boerne, Fredericksburg and Marble Falls—lots of great small towns around the area  in Bortle 3-4. Also an easy 7 hours to (Big Bend Bortle 0)and 5.5 hours to Fort Davis Bortle 2.  

#3 Keith Rivich

Keith Rivich

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Cypress, Tx

Posted 09 February 2024 - 11:16 PM

Thinking about moving closer to my kids ...

If any of you guys lives around Houston area  and do astronomy,

a) how's the situation with mosquitoes at night?

b)  are there enough clear nights in the year?

Glad you asked!