Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Connect ASIAIR Plus via ethernet to router

Smartphone AP Equipment Observatory Software
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 rwoodin3

rwoodin3

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2022

Posted 27 February 2024 - 02:19 AM

Hi, I'm hoping for feedback so that I can correctly connect my ASIAIR Plus that is scope mounted in a backyard observatory (roll off roof shed), to a newly purchased TP-Link Archer AX1450 wifi 6 router that will be located in the bedroom of my house. The distance from the AA+ to the router is maybe 60 ft. I have 100 ft of CAT6 direct burial ethernet cable, with plugs on each end.

The reason for this is to overcome the really poor data transfer speed of the AAP in both access point mode and station mode. Station mode's a little better, but preview images can still take from around 20 seconds to well over a minute to load on my android tablet. My usual preferred connection is a Lenovo android tablet connected to home network wifi from the ISP supplied fiber internet router, with AAP connected to that home wifi in station mode.
The reason for placing the second router in the bedroom is because the bedroom is my "quiet place", where I do the most monitoring and processing of images. I want to be able to connect my tablet directly to the router LAN port via RJ45 to USB-C adapter, which I also have.

I have a fiber internet home network, with a ISP provided modem and router in the living room next to the TV. Initially I thought that I could connect the new router in bedroom to the existing router in the living room via wifi, while having AAP connected to the second (new) bedroom router through ethernet and all would work magically. Of course, I have found that these things are not that simple. In emailing back and forth with ZWO support, I was told that I should connect ethernet from AAP directly to the primary fiber router because 

"you're home ISP modem should be doing DHCP Ralph

if it has WiFi etc on it and some LAN ports ???

if it does ... just buy a long network cable and small network switch

plug the switch into the router you are using for your home network

and the Plus and Tablet / USB network adapter into that new switch

if it has WiFi on it already then its certainly doing DHCP

cheers"

I asked additional questions and tried to explain my preferences in having a second router in bedroom, but I've not had any and don't expect any more replies from ZWO.
There is also a 15'x30' concrete patio that is directly outside of the living room where the fiber router is located.

So... My new router TP-Link AX1450 has one WAN port and four LAN ports. My question as a non network specialist is, can I connect ethernet Cat6 cable from AAP into the WAN port of the new modem, and then when I want to, connect the android tablet, with RJ45-USB-C to ethernet adapter connected to tablet, direct to a LAN port on the new router? Is that the correct physical connection?

If I get that far, can I just configure the new router as an access point for the ASIAIR and... somehow ... set the DHCP on the new router to allocate an IP address to the AA+ ?
And would that then allow me to connect my tablet to the new router either through ethernet or wifi, as desired?
How do I go about setting up the DHCP on the new router and IP on the ASIAIR Plus? Without knowing too much about networking, it's really hard to find the details to do this right, from a google search.

Finally, is there any way I could get fancy and connect the bedroom router to the home router over wifi, so I could then use either ethernet or wifi all over the house, with blazing speeds heretofore unwitnessed over the course of human history? confused1.gif laugh.gif 

Thanks. Any info and guidance is greatly appreciated in advance.

Ralph
 
 



#2 T~Stew

T~Stew

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2,002
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2020
  • Loc: central Ohio

Posted 27 February 2024 - 02:40 AM

Easiest way would be wire the Air direct to one of the LAN ports on your homes wifi router. I used an inexpensive switch at the pier, in case I hook up more than Air (I have two currently, plus could hook up a computer out there if I wanted). I only used regular CAT5 in conduit, I have a large spool from a previous job 20 years ago. I get images transfer in a few seconds (from 2600mm, or 20MP dslr etc). Works great. I'm not sure why you'd want to connect it to the WAN port though. I've never used a RJ45 to USB-C so maybe someone else can chime in there. As for the last part, do you want to have your new router dedicated entirely to ASIair on not your home network? If I am understanding correctly? You could do that, but I am not sure there is a reason? You could have it set to extend your home network if it gets bad reception in that part of your house. I did dedicate a router to the air a couple times, to use a beam antenna over a very long distance, to a receiving router with beam antenna that then put the signal on wifi the phone could connect too. I'd only do that if I couldn't run the wire.


  • Davemartin888 and rwoodin3 like this

#3 rwoodin3

rwoodin3

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2022

Posted 27 February 2024 - 03:05 AM

Easiest way would be wire the Air direct to one of the LAN ports on your homes wifi router. I used an inexpensive switch at the pier, in case I hook up more than Air (I have two currently, plus could hook up a computer out there if I wanted). I only used regular CAT5 in conduit, I have a large spool from a previous job 20 years ago. I get images transfer in a few seconds (from 2600mm, or 20MP dslr etc). Works great. I'm not sure why you'd want to connect it to the WAN port though. I've never used a RJ45 to USB-C so maybe someone else can chime in there. As for the last part, do you want to have your new router dedicated entirely to ASIair on not your home network? If I am understanding correctly? You could do that, but I am not sure there is a reason? You could have it set to extend your home network if it gets bad reception in that part of your house. I did dedicate a router to the air a couple times, to use a beam antenna over a very long distance, to a receiving router with beam antenna that then put the signal on wifi the phone could connect too. I'd only do that if I couldn't run the wire.

Thanks for the reply. In a nutshell, I don't really know what I'm doing. I think of the WAN port as the "in" port and LAN port as the "out" port. I'm probably wrong. The reason for going to the bedroom, besides doing most of my imaging work in there, is the bedroom is a straight shot across the lawn to the shed. The living room would be a diagonal shot, almost twice the distance to the bedroom, across the lawn and somehow across the 15'x30' concrete patio. My thought is to do a shallow slit in the lawn with my flat edge garden shovel, so the CAT6 cable will only be a few inches deep in the soil.
I'm really looking for a general procedure to correctly run the physical connections and configure the software settings of the router(s).



#4 StevieDvd

StevieDvd

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2011
  • Loc: England, UK

Posted 27 February 2024 - 06:06 AM

You are correct in thinking the WAN connection is an 'input' typewink.gif

 

It is possible to connect 2 routers and go with your plan to feed the AAP with it's own ethernet cable.

 

I'd suggest contacting TP-Link and ask how to make that the second router it's not a novice thing to do without instructions. Alternatively,  you could contact the maker of the downstairs router (or contact both for instructions).

 

A quick google came up with this but it's a bit lacking in the detail you would need to see what to do for your specific router(s) so you can see it's possible.


  • rwoodin3 likes this

#5 Davemartin888

Davemartin888

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2014

Posted 27 February 2024 - 07:55 AM

I have my Plus connected directly to my home router with Ethernet and then connect using wifi on the tablet. My Ethernet is 11 mbit and transfers well. Make sure the plus is not in station mode. I have Android and iPad tablets and the transfer speed is slower on the Android. I use a pc for processing files and in this configuration, it’s easy to map the ASiAir as a network drive and access the files there directly to transfer for processing, same 11 mbit speed but once transferred, easy to work with. 


  • rwoodin3 likes this

#6 rwoodin3

rwoodin3

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2022

Posted 27 February 2024 - 08:07 AM

Thanks Guys. I have a rainy day today to read the TP-Link AX1450's manual. I bought it for $40 from Walmart, should be arriving today.
Any advice on setting DHCP, IP, DNS, Gateway and other network stuff is much appreciated.



#7 eddyGorsuch

eddyGorsuch

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Fremont, CA, US

Posted 27 February 2024 - 10:28 AM

1. Think of the WAN port as "to/from the outside world" and LAN ports as "my own little world". Both are input and output.

2. I'd connect the WAN port of the TPLink to connect to a LAN port of the ISP router (I think it is possible to connect the TPLink to the ISP router over WIFI as a client, but it would probably be harder to configure}.

3. Turn off DHCP on the TPLink router. This way, everything connected to the TPLink will get their configuration from the ISP's router. Devices connected to either router will be in the same "your own little world". 

4. Connect the AAP (and tablet if you don't want it to use WIFI) to the LAN ports if the TPLink.

 

This makes the TPLink a slave to the ISP router, and everything on both inside networks can talk to the outside world. It should not be necessary to connect the tablet to Ethernet, WIFI should be fine. 


  • rwoodin3 likes this

#8 rwoodin3

rwoodin3

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2022

Posted 27 February 2024 - 11:58 AM

1. Think of the WAN port as "to/from the outside world" and LAN ports as "my own little world". Both are input and output.

2. I'd connect the WAN port of the TPLink to connect to a LAN port of the ISP router (I think it is possible to connect the TPLink to the ISP router over WIFI as a client, but it would probably be harder to configure}.

3. Turn off DHCP on the TPLink router. This way, everything connected to the TPLink will get their configuration from the ISP's router. Devices connected to either router will be in the same "your own little world". 

4. Connect the AAP (and tablet if you don't want it to use WIFI) to the LAN ports if the TPLink.

 

This makes the TPLink a slave to the ISP router, and everything on both inside networks can talk to the outside world. It should not be necessary to connect the tablet to Ethernet, WIFI should be fine. 

Thanks for that info. I managed to get the new router connected to AA+ via AP mode. The signal strength from the AA+ is extremely poor, but now when my android tablet is near the new router running the ASI app, preview images are loading at up to 6mb/s. That's justification for the $40 bucks spent alone. I can connect ethernet cable coming from AA+ to EJ45-USB-C adapter and so to tablet USB C port. It now says ethernet connected, but I'm not getting any data transfer over ethernet. I'm sure it's a matter of settings in the router and on AA+ that is needed to connect correctly.



#9 eddyGorsuch

eddyGorsuch

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Fremont, CA, US

Posted 27 February 2024 - 04:15 PM

I can connect ethernet cable coming from AA+ to EJ45-USB-C adapter and so to tablet USB C port. It now says ethernet connected, but I'm not getting any data transfer over ethernet. I'm sure it's a matter of settings in the router and on AA+ that is needed to connect correctly.

Connecting the AA+ to the tablet directly via Ethernet might work, but would require some more advanced configuration. Sorry, I don't think I can help with this.

 

Try plugging the AA+ into a TPLink LAN Ethernet port (no USB adapter needed) and see if this speeds up your transfer (tablet still on WiFi). You might need to tell the AA+to not use WIFI. Sorry, I'm kind of advising blind here, since I don't have an AsiAir. 

If that doesn't work, try this next: leave the AA+ plugged into the TPLink, and now use the USB to Ethernet to content the tablet to another TPLink LAN port and see if that helps. (To see if it really helps, turn off the tablet's WiFi, to make sure the tablet is using Ethernet.)


  • rwoodin3 likes this

#10 eddyGorsuch

eddyGorsuch

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2020
  • Loc: Fremont, CA, US

Posted 27 February 2024 - 04:54 PM

How fast do the images load when your tablet is right next to the AA+? Nothing you do to the network equipment can make this faster. 

 

Another thought on speeding up transfer speed:

Maybe keep using WiFi on the AA+, but replace the antenna with one that is more directional (Google search for Pringles WiFi antenna), or maybe going through this thread: https://www.cloudyni...ntenna-upgrade/ (Note again that I don't have any AsiAir, I'm just trying to guess at how to fix the network problems.)


  • rwoodin3 likes this

#11 rwoodin3

rwoodin3

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2022

Posted 28 February 2024 - 05:42 AM

OK, after some hours of fiddling with software, I have this up and running. What I discovered and ended up with is my TP-Link Archer AX1450 wifi6 router is configured as a wireless access point for the ASIAIR.
Wifi File transfer speed is 50ish mb/sec.

I ran CAT6 ethernet from ASIAIR Plus ethernet port, across the lawn and (temporarily) in through the window and connected it to the TP-Link router's WAN port.

I configured the router so it's an access point mode, not router mode.

I configured the ASIAIR Plus as access point/hot spot, not station mode.

This broadcasts the ASIAIR signal feeding into the router WAN port as a wifi Access Point, which is a fancy word for a wifi network that you can connect to.
There is no internet on this network.

To use it on the tablet, I connect the router wirelessly from the tablet.
I named the router 5G network ASIxxx. I named the router 2,4G network ASIxxx_24G.
Preview images in ASIAIR android ASI App on tablet now load in less than a second.

 

On my windows PC, I can also connect wirelessly to the ASIxxx wireless network,

To manage and download files stored in the ASIAIR Plus EMMC (onboard memory), I open the file manager and type \\asiair in the address bar. First time using this windows asks for ASIAIR Plus username and password credentials. These credentials are the username and password in the ASIAIR App wifi page.
In order to enable this login to ASIAIR for file management, I had to turn on Network Discovery in windows control panel under Network and Internet/Network and Sharing Center/Change Advanced Sharing Settings.
Once network discovery is turned on, the PC can be found by other devices on the network, which in this case consists of the ASIAIR Plus, the TP-Link router and the windows PC.

So, for about $70 bucks, I've brought the ASIAIR Plus at the telescope in the shed in the backyard, virtually into the house. Now that I have 50mb/sec over wireless, I'm ditching the direct ethernet from router LAN port to tablet via RJ45-USBC-C adapter idea. I can do all of my plan setups and execution, plus download all my fits files to a pc and delete them from the ASIAIR from the comfort of the house.
I powered off and rebooted all devices involved and have no problem connecting afterwards.

I'll attach a few pics in a gallery that help show some of the software setup involved. Thanks kindly for all the helpful advice on this project. Now I'll be burying the ethernet cable from shed to the house later this week.

https://www.cloudyni...hernet-network/


  • T~Stew likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Smartphone AP, Equipment, Observatory, Software



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics