Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Lxd55 thinks is in the wrong place

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DogOnPot

DogOnPot

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2024

Posted 23 March 2024 - 03:20 PM

Last night I was trying to use the handheld to slew to jupiter and it gave me an error saying it wouldn't rise until 7:40 in the morning. How the heck do I change the location in the system to recognize where I am? I'm in Oklahoma, USA and it thinks it's in Brussels

#2 PatrickVt

PatrickVt

    Apollo

  • ****-
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2018
  • Loc: Vermont, US

Posted 23 March 2024 - 04:11 PM

It is different with each brand/model but you need to be careful about longitude.  Some systems want an E or W...  others want a positive number (with no +) for East or a negative number with a - (West).  Also, longitude typically should be three digits (ie 070 rather than 70).  

 

Your User Manual (pdf always available online) should provide the correct for format for your particular mount as well as all the necessary input data for proper initialization.  

 

Patrick



#3 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8,344
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 March 2024 - 04:39 PM

Gday Dogonpot

Press and hold mode for several seconds then release it

That will bring up the alternate menus

Scroll through them and confirm you have the correct date/time

as well as longitude and latitude and timezone.

The major players in wrong locations are these, as well as the DST setting.

The timezone should be set to your std timezone, it should not include DST

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • Skywatchr likes this

#4 DogOnPot

DogOnPot

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 09 Feb 2024

Posted 23 March 2024 - 05:14 PM

Even if the keypad asks if it's dst, I should enter no?

#5 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8,344
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 March 2024 - 09:40 PM

Gday DogOnPot

 

No

You should use the DST screen to select if DST is applied or not.

The sites timezone should not be used to fake this ( which is what some apps try to do )

ie the Time zone tied to your site MUST be the std timezone.

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#6 michael8554

michael8554

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,039
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2020
  • Loc: Wiltshire UK

Posted 24 March 2024 - 05:22 AM

1.  Brussels is about 4 degrees East, which is a + (plus) setting.

 

Okalahoma is about 98 degrees West, which is a - (minus) setting.

 

So a huge difference in Longitude, quite apart from east/west.

 

2.  If in doubt about settings, in the Setup / Site / Add setting, scroll through to and select Oklahoma City.

 

Then check how Lat and Long should be entered, by looking at what that setup looks like, as per Andrew's instructions.

 

You can then go back in and select Edit if necessary.

 

3. Your Time Zone is GMT-5, this doesn't change.

 

Your DST does change, it changed on 10th March.

 

Though I understand that Oklahoma want to do away with DST ?

 

Set the time to your local time, and DST to ON.


Edited by michael8554, 24 March 2024 - 05:24 AM.



CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics