Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bad camera? 533MC Pro first light of scope and camera

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 15 April 2024 - 07:18 PM

 

Not sure whats going on here. These spots are on my lights and flats and I cant process them out with siril. I'm new to all this but never been a problem with my WO Zenithstar 61 and 183MC Pro. The scope is an new Askar 103APO and camera is an ASI 533MC pro, the scope seems fine as far as focus. I moved the camera from my WO Zenithstar 61, which is a 183MC pro and dont have the spots. I lost the original data so I cant send it (computer error by me/had onedrive on new desktop). I shoot with lights, darks, bias and flats. The attached photo is a flat frame view from my asaiar plus. Any advise is welcome. Coudy night so cant get any new data yet.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_2009.JPG


#2 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8,675
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 15 April 2024 - 07:29 PM

IMO they are dust motes.  They are large enough to be on a corrector or something.  Correctly processing them with Flats should fix the problem.


Edited by Jim Waters, 15 April 2024 - 07:39 PM.

  • WhitenerJ, bobzeq25, idclimber and 2 others like this

#3 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 34,737
  • Joined: 27 Oct 2014

Posted 15 April 2024 - 07:34 PM

You can drive yourself crazy looking at flats in isolation, and it's well nigh impossible to say if flats are good from looking at them separately..  The only thing that matters is how your calibrated lights look.


  • WhitenerJ, Juno18, Oort Cloud and 2 others like this

#4 Robert7980

Robert7980

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3,569
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2022
  • Loc: Western North Carolina

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:02 PM

Those look pretty bad, I’d probably disassemble things and use a camera blower to dust things off… Wouldn’t usually recommend cleaning optics, but it’s probably due, I’d just use a little gentle air… 


  • Juno18 and mhooper like this

#5 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:02 PM

The big dark one at the bottom left was in my calibrated light frame. Everything was new and assembled right from factory packaging. I will try another session on the same target (whirlpool) and get some air duster and see if any dust gets removed. I did have a 1x flatter. I guess more calibration frames would help. I had 49 lights, 20 darks, 10 flats and bias frame. I was able to crop out the bad area and had a decent image, all I have left is the cropped fits and a JPEG. 


  • Robert7980 likes this

#6 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:05 PM

Being everything was new I didn’t bother to look for dust. Everything came directly from a sealed package, assembled and used within a few hours. 



#7 Andros246

Andros246

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,057
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2022

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:10 PM

Being everything was new I didn’t bother to look for dust. Everything came directly from a sealed package, assembled and used within a few hours. 

thats normal looks like its on the IR window


Edited by Andros246, 15 April 2024 - 08:11 PM.

  • licho52, farmeraa and Robert7980 like this

#8 DeepSky Di

DeepSky Di

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4,461
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2020

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:26 PM

I was worried about the line across the picture until I realized it's a reflection. I take a lot of screenshots. On iPad there's a gesture swiping up diagonally from the bottom left corner. I think it has to be enabled in settings, but it's very handy.

 

Agreed with others, these are dust motes. If they are still on the image after flat calibration then the flats are wrong.


  • Juno18 and mhooper like this

#9 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 15 April 2024 - 08:51 PM

I was worried about the line across the picture until I realized it's a reflection. I take a lot of screenshots. On iPad there's a gesture swiping up diagonally from the bottom left corner. I think it has to be enabled in settings, but it's very handy.

 

Agreed with others, these are dust motes. If they are still on the image after flat calibration then the flats are wrong.

I used a double layer new white tee shirt with a trace panel about mid brightness. The ASIAIR figured the exposure time. Do you think I should raise the brightness and/or take more. 



#10 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8,675
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 15 April 2024 - 09:35 PM

FYI

https://www.amazon.c...,aps,138&sr=8-1

 

or...

 

https://www.amazon.c...,aps,138&sr=8-9


  • mhooper likes this

#11 Robert7980

Robert7980

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3,569
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2022
  • Loc: Western North Carolina

Posted 15 April 2024 - 11:51 PM

The big dark one at the bottom left was in my calibrated light frame. Everything was new and assembled right from factory packaging. I will try another session on the same target (whirlpool) and get some air duster and see if any dust gets removed. I did have a 1x flatter. I guess more calibration frames would help. I had 49 lights, 20 darks, 10 flats and bias frame. I was able to crop out the bad area and had a decent image, all I have left is the cropped fits and a JPEG. 

Be careful with canned air, that’s not really what you want, you want one of the rubber squeeze bulbs meant for dusting off camera equipment. Canned air has some chemicals in the propellant that aren’t good for optics I’d avoid that, if any liquid manages to leave the can it’s game over for the coatings on the glass as the CO2 will likely dissolve it… A decent blower bulb is around $20 and will last pretty much forever… Anyone that owns any higher precision optics should have one… 

 

I’ve got this one and couple others, it’s decent quality and been with me for years… Some of the really cheap ones are terrible, it’s worth spending a couple bucks more… 

 

https://www.amazon.c...,97&sr=8-4&th=1


Edited by Robert7980, 15 April 2024 - 11:56 PM.

  • pedxing, DanMiller and mhooper like this

#12 DeepSky Di

DeepSky Di

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4,461
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2020

Posted 16 April 2024 - 12:25 AM

I used a double layer new white tee shirt with a trace panel about mid brightness. The ASIAIR figured the exposure time. Do you think I should raise the brightness and/or take more. 

That's how I do flats. By "wrong" I mean, either the wrong flats for the lights - for example, taken too far apart and some more dust got in - or being combined wrongly. I use APP for stacking.


  • DanMiller and mhooper like this

#13 rj144

rj144

    Skylab

  • -----
  • Posts: 4,473
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2020

Posted 16 April 2024 - 07:55 AM

Being everything was new I didn’t bother to look for dust. Everything came directly from a sealed package, assembled and used within a few hours. 

Dust gets in there almost immediately.


  • Jim Waters likes this

#14 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 16 April 2024 - 11:27 AM

Moved camera to my other scope (WO zenith star 61) and the same spots are in the same spots. If it was dust on the sensor the spot wouldn’t be bloated? Any new ideas? Could it be a camera issue?



#15 Tapio

Tapio

    Voyager 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 10,237
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 16 April 2024 - 11:59 AM

If the spots would in fact be in camera sensor the spots would be small and sharp. That is really rare.

But if they are on the cover glass they are bigger and smoother because the cover glass is some distance from the sensor.


  • Juno18 and DanMiller like this

#16 mhooper

mhooper

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2023
  • Loc: Rosharon TX

Posted 16 April 2024 - 01:05 PM

Problem solved. It was dust. First attempt to air jet dust failed. Second attempt I actually lightly wiped the camera sensor window and was successful. I would like to thank everyone for their advice!



#17 Tapio

Tapio

    Voyager 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 10,237
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 16 April 2024 - 01:13 PM

Good. But do take flats in the future. It's not just dust motes they cure.


  • bobzeq25 and mhooper like this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics