•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Buying a good telescope

• Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 JC0928!

JC0928!

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 May 2024 - 07:11 PM

Good afternoon, I’m new to the forum, my name is Jorge. I’m trying to buy a good telescope that I can enjoy using and seeing the stars and planets. Can anyone suggest a good telescope that I should be looking to get? I’m new at this but don’t want to start looking to up grade the minute I get something that I could’ve avoid. Thanks.
  • sevenofnine and Japetus Eye like this

#2 EsaT

EsaT

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Finland 61.6N

Posted 18 May 2024 - 07:15 PM

Welcome aboard.

What's your budget?

Also where you live affects to what telescopes might be available (brands varying between countries) and light pollution level of more precise locations affects to what can be seen.

• Jon Isaacs and Japetus Eye like this

#3 AGrayson

AGrayson

Viking 1

• Loc: Virginia beach, Virginia

Posted 18 May 2024 - 07:18 PM

I think an 8 inch dobsonian is the best bang for buck telescope you can get. The larger aperture will provide bright, detailed views and the medium focal length will provide a wide range of possible magnification.

We do need to know, what is your budget? how light polluted is your sky? Are you looking for something portable?

An 8 inch dob is relatively portable and extremely easy to use- I would suggest looking at the one below, I own one myself and absolutely love it, and I have yet to find someone who owns a dob and doesn't regret it.

https://www.highpoin...tRoCHpYQAvD_BwE

Edited by AGrayson, 18 May 2024 - 07:18 PM.

• therealdmt, Cajundaddy, jiblet65 and 4 others like this

#4 JC0928!

JC0928!

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 May 2024 - 07:19 PM