•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Edmund fork mounted 8" f/5

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 June 2004 - 10:53 PM

Hello.
I'm new to the Cloudy Nights forum and I'm excited to announce that I just won a classic Edmund fork mounted 8" f/5 on a certain auction site. I hope it ships sometime next week so I can have first light during my upcoming vacation week.

There's a story behind my quest for one of these scopes. When I graduated from high school in 1985, I was going to get an 8" f/5 as my graduation present. I sent in the order and promptly got a letter back telling me that the 8" f/5 was discontinued and there were none left in stock. I was heartbroken, but I still got an Edmund scope. A local doctor had a 6" f/6 on the German pedestal and willingly sold it to me. That 6" scope served me very well for over a decade and even survived a crash that destroyed my car. I eventually sold it because I had acquired an 8" LX200 (first generation) and didn't use it much. I have many, many fond memories of coming home from college and starhopping my way through the Messier Catalog. There was a guy in my home town who had an Edmund fork mounted 6" f/6 and that's the scope through which I got my VERY first view of M57 in, I believe, 1981. I will never forget it.

Anyway, I promised myself that someday I'd find one of the 8" f/5 scopes and I've finally fulfilled that promise. I know I'll get many good years of viewing out of this scope and using it will bring back some very, very fond memories. I got it for less than half of the original retail price and I'm awaiting a final shipping quote from the seller. I'll be happy to post some photos of it here when I get it up and running.