Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Setting up Meade LX90 on ASIAIR Mini

Astrophotography Beginner DSO Equipment Meade Mount Polar Alignment
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Karl S

Karl S

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2024

Posted 27 May 2024 - 10:18 AM

I have LX90 8" (SCT) connected to the ASIAIR Mini. I can't seem to figure out the right workflow for the mount. I can connect everything just fine and manually control the scope with the buttons on the app just fine. When I go into the polar align, however, I start having issues.

 

I watched a lot of videos on the ASIAIR and state that the scope will go to the "home" position when you start the polar align via ASIAIR App. To see what that looked like (before attempting to actually do the polar align) I went to the Mount tab and told it to go to home. It skewed to a strange spot (not where it was when I powered on the scope)

 

I then got curious and turned off the whole rig (scope and ASIAIR) and restarted it WITHOUT moving the mount. I then went back to the app and sent it back "home" and it went to a different location.

 

What's going on? How do I reset "home"? Do I need to reset home? Does "home" even matter and should i simply ignore it? Am I missing something entirely? Do I need to make settings changes in the Handheld controller?

 

How to you set up your LX90 IN ASIAIR app? Does anyone have a workflow for making the app properly control the mount?

 

Can anyone help?

 

Meade LX90 8" SCT

ASIAIR Mini

Main Camera ZWO 585MC

Equatorial Wedge

 



#2 hyiger

hyiger

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,035
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2021
  • Loc: East Bay, CA

Posted 27 May 2024 - 10:38 AM

What's going on? How do I reset "home"? Do I need to reset home? Does "home" even matter and should i simply ignore it? Am I missing something entirely? Do I need to make settings changes in the Handheld controller?

 

How to you set up your LX90 IN ASIAIR app? Does anyone have a workflow for making the app properly control the mount?

Not familiar with your mount but a lot of the Alt/Az goto mounts set home to what ever position the mount is in when you turn on the mount. With your wedge in place, make sure you are pointing true north with your latitude dialed in on the wedge then turn on the mount. This will be "home position". 

 

As long as the app is connected to mount, the only other setup needed is ensuring that the focal length is entered correctly. Otherwise the ASIAir won't be able to correctly plate solve correctly. That said, are you using your equatorial wedge that you mention in your signature? Otherwise, you shouldn't be trying to polar align, it's not possible anyway with an Alt/Az mount. 

 

My suggestion with your setup and camera is to get a reducer. If you want to get into astrophotography you should consider a quality equatorial mount and a cooled camera instead. Wedges in my opinion are cumbersome. Also maybe start with a 80mm refractor instead of a long focal length SCT. 


Edited by hyiger, 27 May 2024 - 10:52 AM.


#3 Karl S

Karl S

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2024

Posted 27 May 2024 - 10:52 AM

Have a wedge and it doesn't go back to the same home position when you restart the mount.

 

I then got curious and turned off the whole rig (scope and ASIAIR) and restarted it WITHOUT moving the mount. I then went back to the app and sent it back "home" and it went to a different location.

 

I actually have two focal reducers (a 0.33 and 0.63).



#4 hyiger

hyiger

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,035
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2021
  • Loc: East Bay, CA

Posted 27 May 2024 - 10:54 AM

Have a wedge and it doesn't go back to the same home position when you restart the mount.

 

 

I actually have two focal reducers (a 0.33 and 0.63).

Not familiar at all with Meade but is there an option in the handset then to set home position? Also, from your handset I assume you've set the mount for EQ mode?


Edited by hyiger, 27 May 2024 - 10:56 AM.


#5 Karl S

Karl S

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2024

Posted 27 May 2024 - 12:10 PM

Not familiar at all with Meade but is there an option in the handset then to set home position? Also, from your handset I assume you've set the mount for EQ mode?

 

I had the same thought too. I found a "Park" setting where it will take you mount back to a "known" location, but no way to set that location.

 

I actually think that the home position may be 100% irrelevant. Next clear night I think I might just "power through it". Maybe I send it home and then just bring it back to Polaris and then get into alignment and guiding.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Astrophotography, Beginner, DSO, Equipment, Meade, Mount, Polar Alignment



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics