•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Maksutov vs Newtonian

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

#1 CHRISTOS

CHRISTOS

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 June 2004 - 06:23 AM

Hi to all
Last Saturday night I was out for observing with a friend. He had a 130 mm Newtonian Skywatcher - I had an Intes Micro 500 Mak (127mm). What I (and he) noticed after a brief comparison on well known objects (mainly globular clusters) was that the images thru the Newtonian were fairly brighter than the ones from the Maksutov. Because I am a beginner, I cannot understand if this generally applies for all Mak Vs Newtonian scopes (with same aperture), or it has to do with this specific Mak : defected/miscollimated/dust on mirror etc.
Can anybody help ?

#2 bierbelly

bierbelly

Voyager 1

Posted 21 June 2004 - 06:37 AM

Hi to all
Last Saturday night I was out for observing with a friend. He had a 130 mm Newtonian Skywatcher - I had an Intes Micro 500 Mak (127mm). What I (and he) noticed after a brief comparison on well known objects (mainly globular clusters) was that the images thru the Newtonian were fairly brighter than the ones from the Maksutov. Because I am a beginner, I cannot understand if this generally applies for all Mak Vs Newtonian scopes (with same aperture), or it has to do with this specific Mak : defected/miscollimated/dust on mirror etc.
Can anybody help ?

The Mak will lose more light due to the meniscus lens, which isn't present on the Newt.

#3 wilash

wilash

Fairy Godmother

Posted 21 June 2004 - 06:50 AM

I assume you were comparing the scopes at the same powers. If the Newtonian was working at a lower power the images will be brighter.