•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Quick question and an introduction

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 June 2004 - 08:52 PM

Hi all, although I'm not a total novice (own a piece of *bleep* dept store 60mm refractor) I haven't been seriously active in astronomy for several years. I treated myself to a 127mm Starmax last Christmas and have been loving every minute I get a chance to get outside with it :grin:

After searching many different sites on the internet, I think I've finally found the best forums and website here at cloudynights. I was wondering what all of you normally do that take your scopes back inside after an observing session. Is it best to replace all the covers on the OTA and eyepieces before going inside, or do you normally take everything inside and let the condensation (if there is any) evaporate before replacing the covers. I've read opinions on both and don't really like the idea of taking everything inside covered up with condensation on the lenses, but also don't like the idea of letting my pride and joy sit all night collecting dust on the lenses when they could be covered.

Darrell

#2 bierbelly

bierbelly

Voyager 1

Posted 21 June 2004 - 08:57 PM

IMO, you're worrying too much. Sooner or later, your corrector lens will get messy, and then you'll be worrying about how to clean it. One way or the other, the dew that's formed on your corrector will cause schmutz to deposit. Best not to worry about it too much, cause it doesn't really affect seeing all that much.

PS, nobody is gonna like that answer, but it's the truth. Just wait and see. ;)

#3 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 June 2004 - 09:03 PM